Sort:  

So did you use a very fine fabric, @fiberfrau ? I guess I'm slightly confused with the use of shirring elastic which went in the bobbin. This thread could actually go through the needle....
Can you tell me how you used it, please?

My elastic thread was cotton-wrapped. I used it in the bobbin and embroidery thread in the needle. The elastic gathered my lightweight cotton for the look of smocking.

Posted using Partiko Android

That sounds like the way my mum used to use that 'shirring' elastic, @fiberfrau... I wish I'd paid attention to her method... Do you stretch the elastic a bit as you wind it in the bobbin?

It has been a while, but I think I just let it stretch as it wound onto the bobbin using my machine's bobbin winder. Then it relaxes after stitching to create the shirring.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83