You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #needleworkmonday :: Simple beaded interchangeable dangling earrings - How-to

Hello @marblely, What a great tutorial, it reminded me of my weaving season and my grandmother who was an excellent weaver.

creativity has no limits, I like the simplicity and purity of the design you bring us, as with few elements you can make real jewelry.

Have you ever tried to make or make your own threads? and instead of using stones and ornaments, use seeds, well in my case that I live in a tropical country, you can get a variety of seeds to be made into necklaces or earrings.

same is the same ancestral tradition, weaving and making clothing is millenary, great art, thank you for sharing this publication.

Sort:  

Thank you for dropping by @arrozymangophoto! Ooo weaving. I love watching people weave, I do hope to pick it up one day. I do simple weaving but I would like to do more serious ones with a cricket and loom kind. I love bags made with woven cloth.
I have not tried making my own thread nor use seeds. I do get a lot of different seeds here but the idea of poking a whole on each is quite a bit of work.
Oo

I have it @marblely, there must be some kind of natural hemp that you can find in a store, to make my thread use a natural hemp called moriche is like a palm that grows in the rainforest in South America, then unravel the hemp process in the following way in my foot attaches to the big toe 3 strands of hemp and then step I'm twisting by friction to get the thread, the aborigines taught me another technique that is similar but as I am hairy in the legs I have a hard time, it is the same but you need 2 people one that weaves the 3 shadows and the other person goes as amazan with the hand in his leg and with the torques achieves the thread.

the seeds is another story, you can get dry seeds, which obviously makes drilling difficult, but if you know at least the seasons in which those seeds grow in the trees then you can choose them yourself, select them, to be the season and adding that the uprooting of the tree itself or those that fall to the ground naturally, the seeds are white and easy to drill, only a hot needle would suffice to pierce without much effort and then with a preheated frying pan with vegetable oil the sofries, this is done to seal the seeds and give them durability, seeds that are not sealed are usually damaged by contact with sweat, water or weevils can make a feast by eating the seeds or the rodents themselves.

I hope to stay in touch could exchange knowledge at a distance, follow me <3

peace and love, greetings

Oh wow.. thank you for the details @arrozymangophoto! Appreciate it :)
Did you write a post on how to make thread or planning to write one? That would be really interesting. I try to imagine what you described and I think it is cool.
And the seeds, aaah.. it is about the right timing, is it? Usually what I see are seeds that are already harden. A very interesting idea. Thank you friend. I have followed you :)

@marblely, Nothing as long as it is to massify knowledge... there I will be.

you are right I will make a post about how to make your own thread.

as far as seeds are concerned, it is a question of getting access with a botanist or agronomist who knows how to tell you in which season of the year the seeds are ready.

if you live in a country of 4 seasons probably in autumn is already late, because in that date and the seeds are in the ground hard. and for spring blooms the vegetation so it should be before autumn ... to reference I take by the country where I live, although there are 2 seasons, one rainy and another dry before the start of the season that would come being spring is that I collect the seeds ... anyway look for information.

and when I have time and materials I make the video if necessary how to make your own thread.

greetings, I already started to follow you also <3 peace and love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90