You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diving deep into the buttonland

Well done for finishing it, @neumannsalva. I will answer your questions below ... they're just my opinion and I'm often a bit odd :D

First: should I shorten the sleeves?
Personally, I would. I think if it was me I would feel happier about it. I sense that you feel they're too long.
I normally just fold the cuffs as I'm so short I'm used to doing that ...

Second: which buttons should I use?
I like the ones with the stars actually or the metals ones :D

Third: why do I always find my handmade items ugly on myself?
I think that's because you may be too self-critical. It is good to be able to reflect and not just accept things, but you've done a good job with it so 'celebrate' :D

I feel it is a lovely cardigan and I like the lace motif on the front. It is also a good colour because you can combine it; perhaps you just need to wear it with a brighter colour top, eg mustard, lilac or a seasonal orange to make yourself feel happier about it.

** Did you use a smaller set of needles to make the neckline ? Perhaps it just needed a tighter tension that's all.

A row of crochet may be fine too but check the tension...

Sort:  

ugh... it seems I have to shorten the sleeves (my lazy I tells me 'no just put the sweater in the box and forget about it' :-D) Everyone thinks they are too long, and you are right, if I don't like them, then I will not wear it.
Buttons: The silve rones are my first choice....but they are too heavy. I already tried it out and the whole buttonband collapses under their weight :-D The stars are also beautiful, but right now I think they are distracting from the lace panels, so I think i will use the unobtrusive black ones.
Am I ugly... wait, this wasn't the third question or was it :-DDD? Here you are also right (as with the sleeves) I somtimes always (ahhh I am doing it right now) have the tendency to criticise/destroy things I made. And the black things were perhaps not the best choice to cheer me up about the sweater :-D And although I like to take photos and in the moment of making the shots, I am not selfconscious, afterwards is always another question. And besides from the photos I often find it hard to combine clothes so that they look good together (not only handmade items).
Tension: check - you are right again... I used the same needle as for the rest. But in my defence, the pattern called for it. Now I know better. But as buttonband and neckline are worked together, anravelling is no option.
Thank you so much for your button and sleeve support and for cheering me up <3 <3

I'm looking forward to seeing an update on your lovely cardigan, @neumannsalva :D

sigh... the cardigan is looking reproachful at me 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91