You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PICASSO 1932: LOVE | FAME | TRAGEDY First Thoughts

Thank you for the mention @shanibeer. I was really interested in this exhibition so thank you for writing about it.
I listened to an interview on the radio some time ago where Anneka Rice interviewed Picasso's grandson. I was feeling a bit annoyed at the time because she was a bit too awe struck for my liking as if she was talking to Picasso himself 😔
I think one of the main things is that now we understand the historical setting both social and personal.
I am really curious what your studio will be like :D

Sort:  

I'm sorry that I missed that interview, it isn't available any more on iplayer. I find myself wondering what Picasso was like to be around. He seems to have had prodigious energy, and also to have been very down to earth. I think he would have liked Anneka and would have charmed her. Or would he have been irascible?
I want to write two more posts, one about some of the portraits of Marie-Therese, and another one, where I would try to select one iconic work from each of the phases. I will need to go back again, even though I took notes, there are too many things I'm not sure of and want to check.
I tried to see the Frida Kahlo exhibition as well, but it was completely sold out. I will have to organise booking in advance. I need a bigger bag as well, one that will hold my notebook and art kit as well as umpteen pairs of glasses and all the other paraphernalia we need day to day.
My studio will be beautifully tidy and ordered on day one and completely chaotic by day five.

A bit devastating about that Frida Kahlo exhibition, @shanibeer, I was stupidly hoping to just turn up with the girls; buy tickets and enjoy all the bright colours and merchandise...
I totally agree about the energy in Picasso and also his ability to acquire/incorporate concepts he saw.
At the first sign of 'cringiness' I would have switched radio station if that interview had ever taken place though so I wouldn't know - always a thin line between sheer enthusiasm and lack of insight as she's an artist herself, I would expect a lot more from her.
I also need a bigger bag... I keep saying I will sew one and then get distracted.
You're really fortunate to get a studio... Mine would be chaotic from day one (sewing/knitting machines), mags, patterns, craft books, supplies, works in progress...

I have a really good moleskine reporter's bag - waterproof, robust, zip fastening and good solid over-body strap - big enough for everyday, but not the extra art stuff. I made the mistake of taking some things out of it one time, but then I lost them 🙁.

When I comes to big bags the question for me is quick access @shanibeer... Either independent pouches or sections within the bag would help with all of the 'extras'... I'm trying to limit myself. I've just come back from an appointment and waiting. I did some sketching but only took a couple of sketchbooks and a transparent heavy plastic zipped bag with pens and watercolour. I didn't get much done because I was listening to Philip Treacy being interviewed in Desert Island Discs. It was quite moving at times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88