PICASSO 1932: LOVE | FAME | TRAGEDY First Thoughts

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

On Monday I went to see Picasso 1932: Love Fame Tragedy at Tate Modern.

This was a very moving exhibition (I cried in the cafe afterwards) of an especially creative and productive year of Picasso's life, set against a back drop of economic depression and mass unemployment in Europe, leading to the hardening of both left and right wing politics and foreshadowing war.

The exhibition moves through ten phases of the year, each of them rich and far too extravagant to contain in one post. Here, I've picked out a few art works that had particular resonance for me as a maker and for my interest in colour and texture.

20180709_140845.jpg
Actually, this is for @cryptocariad and the discussions we've had about drawing. It's hard to represent the beauty of the original in this medium. It's a large drawing perhaps four feet by six feet, and a finished artwork, not a study for a painting: the drawings ... "often relate to paintings on similar themes albeit with a focus on line and form rather than colour. Rubbings, erasures and over-drawing make visible the process of image construction."

I found this drawing very moving. There was something about the sheer skill, the confidence with which the lines were drawn, the perfection and tenderness of the shape of the head, like a baby's, that was breathtaking. It was so peaceful and seemed to embody love in its lines and shapes. He was, of course, in love with the model, a young woman, Marie-Therese Walter, but to be able to convey that in a drawn line is extraordinary.

20180709_131855.jpg
A detail of a larger still life (Bust, Dish and Palette) with allusions to classical painting.

I've chosen this detail because of the colours of the fruit. The whole painting looks a bit odd and bland; and then, when you start to look closer (because it is so very strange), you realise the deftness of the colouring of the fruit, light and bright against the muddiness of the background.

I liked these colours. I bought a set of pencils from the shop afterwards and tried to re-create them. I feel I want to play with them some more, perhaps with paints. The following day I visited Liberty's and spent some time trying to match the colours against the various yarns. (Liberty's was very disappointing. It was as if they didn't know I was coming. As well, they have turned part of the Haberdashery department into Customer Collections, blocking one of the lovely leaded windows. What were they thinking?)

20180709_130010.jpg
This was a very complex painting with references to the new concepts and language of psycho-analysis and the work of Freud and Jung. Again, the Internet hardly does justice to the colours and impact of the painting.

I've chosen this, again, because of the colours. The painting is called Rest and is one of a series of a woman sitting in an armchair. The painting is anything but restful and the sequence of red, orange and yellow above the seated figure almost fizzes. I love the flow of the shapes in the lower half of the armchair and the juxtaposition of the colours.

The background is also interesting - the mosaics of the wallpaper, calm on the right of the painting and agitated on the left. The rich texturing of the lower part of the wall reminded me of the textures in Shortbread Inspirations.

Returning to the figure, Picasso has done something interesting with the hair - the sharp black lines. These are painted with a loaded brush which dries towards the end of the stroke, giving a feathered finish, and a blob of paint has been added for emphasis between the strokes at the base of the hair.

20180709_143158.jpg
This final picture for today is a detail from The Rescue, a painting from the end of 1932. The subject of The Rescue is very dark and ambiguous. The figures are depicted in murky colours and it isn't entirely clear what is happening. The figures are set against a background, dark in some places, with a curious chiascuro effect reminiscent of Caravaggio. This detail shows a little of the technique that Picasso used to achieve the effect.

The background was painted thickly with white, with ridges and texture in the paint, and allowed to dry completely before being overpainted with green. In thise section, Picasso has scraped back some of the green, creating a lighter effect, and then dabbed thick white petals. The feeling of this painting is ominous, disorienting, worrying, even frightening.

I was envious of Picasso and his chaotic studio above his apartment in Paris, and the eighteenth-century chateau in Normandy with a sculpture studio in one of the stables. All this work poured out of him, sometimes a painting every day.

'The work that one does is a way of keeping a diary.' Picasso

Today, I cleared the room that is going to be my studio.

Sort:  

I love this post! I'm not an art fan but your passion and love rub off.
Here is another drawing for you.

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it.
I like the drawing - why did you choose that one to send me?

Because its from a friends daughter my wife and I teach. She did this two years ago when she was 14. Namwan is slightly autistic and has serious LD, and thus her career options don't look good, but God is she artistic. Sadly she doesn't have much interest in art and we are trying to encourage her and get her in at a Uni to study art as shes now just turned 16. Her academic abilities may just thwart this.
And I thought you may like it, or at least appreciate it :-)

Yes, I do, thank you very much. And I appreciate the story behind it. I hope Namwan finds the right place for her.

Thank you for the mention @shanibeer. I was really interested in this exhibition so thank you for writing about it.
I listened to an interview on the radio some time ago where Anneka Rice interviewed Picasso's grandson. I was feeling a bit annoyed at the time because she was a bit too awe struck for my liking as if she was talking to Picasso himself 😔
I think one of the main things is that now we understand the historical setting both social and personal.
I am really curious what your studio will be like :D

I'm sorry that I missed that interview, it isn't available any more on iplayer. I find myself wondering what Picasso was like to be around. He seems to have had prodigious energy, and also to have been very down to earth. I think he would have liked Anneka and would have charmed her. Or would he have been irascible?
I want to write two more posts, one about some of the portraits of Marie-Therese, and another one, where I would try to select one iconic work from each of the phases. I will need to go back again, even though I took notes, there are too many things I'm not sure of and want to check.
I tried to see the Frida Kahlo exhibition as well, but it was completely sold out. I will have to organise booking in advance. I need a bigger bag as well, one that will hold my notebook and art kit as well as umpteen pairs of glasses and all the other paraphernalia we need day to day.
My studio will be beautifully tidy and ordered on day one and completely chaotic by day five.

A bit devastating about that Frida Kahlo exhibition, @shanibeer, I was stupidly hoping to just turn up with the girls; buy tickets and enjoy all the bright colours and merchandise...
I totally agree about the energy in Picasso and also his ability to acquire/incorporate concepts he saw.
At the first sign of 'cringiness' I would have switched radio station if that interview had ever taken place though so I wouldn't know - always a thin line between sheer enthusiasm and lack of insight as she's an artist herself, I would expect a lot more from her.
I also need a bigger bag... I keep saying I will sew one and then get distracted.
You're really fortunate to get a studio... Mine would be chaotic from day one (sewing/knitting machines), mags, patterns, craft books, supplies, works in progress...

I have a really good moleskine reporter's bag - waterproof, robust, zip fastening and good solid over-body strap - big enough for everyday, but not the extra art stuff. I made the mistake of taking some things out of it one time, but then I lost them 🙁.

When I comes to big bags the question for me is quick access @shanibeer... Either independent pouches or sections within the bag would help with all of the 'extras'... I'm trying to limit myself. I've just come back from an appointment and waiting. I did some sketching but only took a couple of sketchbooks and a transparent heavy plastic zipped bag with pens and watercolour. I didn't get much done because I was listening to Philip Treacy being interviewed in Desert Island Discs. It was quite moving at times.

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already 3131.47 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18902.47
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

@steemcleaners I seem to have some flagging spam from @sesamcrs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95