Frame loom ornament.

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I don't know much about weaving but I enjoy taking pictures when my partner works on her loom or in this case, on the small weaving frame!

So when I found out about #NeedleWorkMonday initiated by @crosheille I thought it would be nice to make a relevant post!

IMG_0248.jpg

If you haven't heard of a frame loom is the simplest thing. It is just a frame, like the ones they use to frame paintings where you string as many wraps you want depending of the size of the weft you are about to make. Usually it is used as educational tool for beginners or for very small items, like the one I am showing you today!

IMG_0261.jpg

You place the weft one by one and use a fork to compress them. As simple as that! The ones used today are made from jute although the colorful ones on the background are from wool.

IMG_0257.jpg

IMG_0276.jpg

Some pebbles we gathered on the beach can always become handy when making small decorative items!

IMG_0299.jpg

IMG_0300.jpg

IMG_0309.jpg

When I stepped outside where she was weaving it was almost done but I had enough time for some shots of the procedure and a few of the final product! It can be used as a hanging ornament or even a necklace.

IMG_0320.jpg

IMG_0328.jpg

IMG_0336.jpg

IMG_0341.jpg

IMG_0344.jpg

IMG_0349.jpg

I think it is a beautiful little thing but of course I am not objective so I would love to hear what you think about it.

IMG_0351.jpg

IMG_0353.jpg

And one question before I close my post. Would you bought something like that and if yes what is a reasonable price according to you?

IMG_0382.jpg

IMG_0362.jpg

IMG_0363.jpg

IMG_0360.jpg

All the pictures were taken with my Canon EOS 6D Mark II with a Canon EF 50mm f1.8 STM lens attached and all the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxJ4wFsG4h87wPThsAYPWQQG5Mp6ohvcJnAdTCW2XmJpX4hedRgyD8hk1EVH7AskWH6VKLkF95MiWEhst4efBoDyw2HvGpq6sGPhF1KSWtLPqNbBuAkiBfX4.jpg

Sort:  

You're right, it's a beautiful ornament!

But the photos are great, too :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @muscara, from both of us :)

these photos are really good and your partner is very talented.

We both, thank you very much @trucklife-family!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you for the support :)

Wow what a fun thing to photograph and you did such a great job. They are so crisp and clear and interesting.

Thanks a lot!
I am glad you like it :)

Hello @fotostef and welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday! Every Monday us needlers get together to share our work, patterns, tips and ideas. We want to inspire the Steemit blockchain with our creations as we support one another.

On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days we use the #needlework tag (no Monday attached).

My eyes are happy and my heart is dancing over this Beautiful piece your partner has made! Wow! We always encourage everyone to share the process of their work so I appreciate you doing that.

I first seen your photography work posted under ntopaz and I was very impressed. I love this type of looming. It is really amazing watching it all come together! Her piece turned out gorgeous! I invite you to share more of her work whenever you’d like :D

I would absolutely buy this piece! I think handmade pieces are hard to price because you put a lot of work, love and patience into them and there will never be another piece exactly the same :)

Thank you so much for sharing with us. For more information on the @needleworkmonday community and our posting guidelines please read our FAQs.

Hi @crosheille, thank you for your kind words, I really appreciate it (and my partner, too).
I have read all about #NeedleWorkMonday and I think it is a wonderful initiative, I'll be more than happy to post under your tag when I have the opportunity :)

You both are very welcome ~ ☺️

That’s awesome! Thank you so much! That makes me happy to hear! Looking forward to seeing more from you both.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for your support!

This is such a great post! :D Love the necklace :-) Yes, I'd buy something like that, and I believe handmade objects should have a good price as it's mostly time/labour that you pay for :-) I'm currently thinking about how to price my felted scarfs - they take 3 hours to make, and according to hourly rates in The Netherlands I should at least ask 150,- for them - but it feels a bit expensive? Or maybe not? Sometimes pricing things higher has a psychological effect too - where if something is expensive people might think 'that's because it's so unique/rare/special'.

So definitely don't go too low. What would I pay for a unique necklace like this one? Hmmm. I think if it was priced 20-30 euros I wouldn't think too long about it :-) Hope that helps.

Pricing handmade objects is difficult and often they are sold much to cheap. When I see socks at church bazaars etc. with price tags of € 20 or less I never know whether to weep or rage...

Yes. It's hard. Even with my scarfs I somehow feel that the bigger ones should be priced more than the smaller ones even though the same amount of work goes into them regardless of size :D So there's a total disconnect between the actual work I put in them and what I think I 'can' price them.

Maybe I should go the other route and totally price them for the work I put in. And teach people the value of art/handmade in the meanwhile :-) I see fellow felters ask 30 euros (sooo cheap) and 250 euros (actually what it costs in hours * European hourly loan).

Thank you @soyrosa from both of us, for your kind words and for the price estimation!
I know how hard it is to give a price on a handmade creation and I am totally incapable of doing so :)
You are doing a nice job with your scarfs, I am waiting to see more!

You're welcome! :-) How much time goes into making one? You should see if you can calculate how much you normally earn in an hour and see if the price of the necklace will still be 'reasonable' :-)

Yes, we have thought of that approach but I thought that a little opinion poll doesn't hurt :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected and you have received an upvote from the Steemitmamas community account. Thank you for contributing great content!

This is a curation initiative supported by the @steem-hodler tribe

20180516_002249_0001.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05