My Best Selling Product: La Donna Handbag [ENG-IND]

image

Hello my dearest friends,

I spent quite a lot of time last week to sew. I managed to sew two handbags, it was a little bit in a rush because the bags will be brought abroad. The bag model is my best seller product, namely La Donna Handbag.

Halo semua, minggu lalu, saya menghabiskan cukup banyak waktu untuk menjahit. Ada dua tas pesanan teman saya yang harus saya selesaikan karena akan dibawa ke luar negeri. Kebetulan model yang dipesan adalah produk best seller saya, yaitu tas wanita yang saya beri nama La Donna Handbag.

image

But this time, I hade to make the bag in bigger size, but it was okay, I did not find it difficult to enlarge the pattern. The normal length of the base is 30cm, and this time I had to make it to 45cm. I believe the owner will bring a lot of stuff so she needs a roomy bag.

Tapi kali ini, ukuran yang diminta jauh lebih besar dari yang biasa saya buat. Tapi tak mengapa, saya tak terlalu kesulitan memperbesar polanya. Ukuran normal alasnya adalah 30cm, sedangkan tas yang saya buat kali ini panjang alasnya adalah 45 cm. Mungkin karena akan dipakai untuk umroh, jadi kemana-mana barang bawaan agak banyak, kemungkinan karena ada mukena dan perlengkapan lain.

image

The fabric chosen was linen, and as always, I had to put some fusible interfacing so the fabric will be a little bit thicker and to prevent the fabric from fraying. The interfacing I used was pellon which is flaxible. I like this interfacing because if we fold the bag, it won’t crease.

Kain yang dipilih adalah kain linen. Dan seperti biasa, kebanyakan tas kain memerlukan pelapis agar tidak terlalu tipis dan untuk mencegah agar kain tidak mudah terburai. Nah, pelapis yang saya gunakan ini bernama pelon. Teksturnya tidak kaku, lentur sehingga kain menjadi lebih tebal tapi tidak kaku. Saya suka pelapis ini karena jika tasnya dilipat tidak akan langsung terlihat ‘patah’ di jalur lipatannya.

image

The way I made it was I made the outer, the inner, and the stabilizer. So there were 3 different parts which were combined at the mouth of the bag by topstitching. For the stabilizer, I used foam which has a good texture as it gives volume and shape to the bag. Giving a stabilizer is very important, otherwise, the bag will be flabby, not having a shape at all. Take a look at this outer bag, it had a pelon interfacing, but no stabilizer. It looks awful, right?

Proses pembuatan tas terdiri dari pembuatan bagian luar tas, bagian dalam, dan pelapis busa. Jadi ada tiga bagian tas yang nanti akan disatukan di bagian mulutnya dengan cara jahit tindas. Untuk busa, saya menggunakan busa jilbab karena teksturnya bagus, bisa memberikan volume dan bentuk tas yang saya inginkan. Memberikan pelapis yang sekaligus berfungsi sebagai pembentuk tas itu sangat perlu, karena tanpanya, tas akan lembek, jelek, dan tak berbentuk. Ini contohnya, bagian luar tas ini sudah diberi pelapis pelon, tapi tak ada bentuk sama sekali.

image

image

Upon finishing the bag, I made small pouches to be given as a bonus. I then tucked in a short letter asking them to pray for me so that I can go for Umrah just like them in the near future. Umrah is an Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca, Hijaz, Saudi Arabia. It is often called the 'minor pilgrimage', in contrast to the Hajj which is 'major' pilgrimage. The Hajj is compulsory for every Muslim who can afford it. On the other hand, the Umrah is not compulsory but highly recommended.

Setelah membuat tas, saya membuat dompet kecil sederhana untuk bonus. Lalu saya menyelipkan sebuah surat yang berisi agar saya ikut didoakan supaya segera dimampukan untuk pergi ke tanah suci. Banyak orang menitip doa saat kerabat atau teman pergi ke tanah suci, berharap agar Alloh memberikan jalan agar segera bisa menyusul ke Baitulloh juga.

image

Last, I wrapped the bag in brown paper and tucked a note saying thank you for buying handmade. If you are interested in my other sewing crafts, kindly check my instagram @bellobello.crafts. Thank you...

Terakhir, saya membungkus tas dengan kertas dan menyertakan ucapan terima kasih sudah membeli barang handmade buatan saya. Teman-teman yang tertarik melihat jejahitan saya yang lain, silakan cek instagram saya @bellobello.crafts. Terima kasiih...

image

Please follow @horazwiwik

Sort:  

Wow! Great work! Very beautiful bag, I would like to have the same. You all did very accurately and attractively!

thanks for your lovely comments @inna-yatsuk :)

Salam great work that's so beautiful. Upvote and followed do follow me thanks. Stay blessed dear.

Thank you very much.

Beautiful bags, very stylish and beautifully made. Thank you for showing us the process, I hope you get lots more commissions.

Wow @horazwiwik! These handbags are absolutely Gorgeous! You are very talented and I see why these are your best sellers!

Thank you for sharing about the process! I love all of the layers you put into these, they look very sturdy. I love the designs and the handles on the bags. I see you include an extra strap in case they want to carry it long. The additional little pouch is so cute. I really love how you package them, very professional!!

Well as you can see I love everything! 😄 I really enjoyed this post! Thank you so much for sharing your work and progress with us this week ;)

Many thanks for your lovely comments, @crosheille. I always enjoy reading your comments.

The bag itself, the first time I made it, back in 2016, I was very frustated because many parts of the work were very challenging. I remember I said that I would never make this bag again. But then a friend insisted on asking me to make one for her. Thus I learned many things to make it easier. And thanks God, now I enjoy making this bag 😊

Awww sure! It’s always a pleasure visiting your blog! 😊

I’m so glad your friend asked you to make her one, now look at you go!! 😃

Yeah, challenges give more vakuable experiences and insight. I am glad I took the challenges last year.

very beautiful bags !!!! I first saw how to sew them properly. beautiful post!

Thanks a lot @tali72. Making a bag is a pretty long process. To me, the scariest part is topstitching 😂

I love it! And the patterns you chose are wonderful. So nice that you make a matching pouch. I can see why it is your best seller!

Thanks @anise. I never thought this handbag model will have lots of fans :D

I can understand why you would think that because it seems like a simple design but your quality of work and choice of material makes all the difference! 👍

Aww, thank you for the sweet comment, @anise!

Very nice! Sewing, is one thing I am not so great at. I can make basic clothing and some things we need...but not like your work :)

Thanks @elew. Honestly I am not very good at sewing, especially shen sewing clothes. But I do sew my kids simple dresses because no matter how bad it turns out, they are always happy :D

Well I can see WHY that bag is your best seller, @horazwiwik! It's beautiful!! I love the special touches that you do for your customers, such as the extra sacks, nice note and pretty wrapping. I hope you get to go on your pilgrimage! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you very much @crystalize. special touches are very important to differenciate my products from mass produced ones. Thanks, I do want to go on a pilgrimage someday. Fingers crossed :D

Keren. Pengen deh ke studionya nih. ☺

Ga punya studio kok ini, tempat jait jadi satu sama tempat main anak2. Jadi ya kapal pecah tiap hari, bisa pingsan liatnya 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62