Learning How To Crochet Crocodile Stitches

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

new project.JPG
I have many small balls of yarn in different colors like these, and I have been think of what to do with them. Buying yarn from the Thrift Store has one advantage and that is saving money. The biggest disadvantage of all is to match the right type of yarn together for a project.

new project 1.JPG
So the search was on to use these left-over yarn! I want to do something different rather than pot holders or dish towels! I want a challenge! I want to learn new things! And I found it!

new projects 2.JPG
I think I am more ambitious than having skill! I chose to learn the CROCODILE STITCHES, also known as DRAGON TEARS. I have to unravel it many times, and re-tried it many times until finally I got it right!

new project 3.JPG
Thanks goodness my brain is still working and able to process the somewhat confusing directions. Now, what left for me to do is to stack the colors so it would look attractive. My new project is on its way...

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!

Sort:  

When I was a pre-teen and teenager (yeah I was kind of nerdy... still am) my mom taught me how to crochet. I learned the basic stitch and could make granny squares until the sun came up.

I haven't picked up a crochet needle in decades. Wish I had kept up with it.

It will all come back! I didn't do any knitting or crocheting for over 20 years too, and once the kids left home, I begin again, especially when I heard that I will be a grandma :-)

@goldendawne you can start over again with me and join my crochet series ‘Crochet with CroSheille’! I’m teaching all the basics so even people who have never picked up a crochet hook can learn ;D

I have seen this stitch many of times but have never tried it. I think you are doing a great job and your stitches look very neat and well put together. I love the color combo so far...looking forward to seeing what you make out of this! 👀

Thank you! I am trying to learn new patterns and used up my left-over yarn :-)

That’s awesome and a great idea! 👍🏽

I love learning new stitches and techniques! The more you know the more you can make projects "your own" with these details :)

I do too, learning new patterns and stitches! I am not good at designing though!

@icybc do you know crochet us techniques developed in India?

I am not sure what you are asking, but just guessing that you want to know if there is any patterns/stitches in India?

You can go on YouTube and search for what you want! Some are in different languages, and you can follow the ones in English too! They usually show stitch by stitch; and you can also pause it, rewind and learn from it.

@icybc I am saying this technique are discovered in India. :)

That is wonderful to know! Thank you!

I love your work. I wish I know how to knit.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you!!

Although you wrote that you had no 'free will' in this colour combination, I love the result. I am not sure if you will use all colors from the first photo, but the mustard, brown, white, and pink combo is super <3
The crocodile stitch looks very neat and I think you have really mastered it. Till now I have never tried it. My challenge was the bullion stitch I used in the fiber art sculpture of this Mondays post.
Where will you go with this project? A little bag?

Thank you! I am learning to make a backpack in crocodile stitch! I didn't use all the colors but plan on doing different things with them too..

great !! I did not yet knit such a pattern. What do you want to do? what will it be?

I thought the pattern looks so nice, I am making a hand bag :-)

I find that stitch is really time consuming @icybc... well done for learning it 😊

Thank you! Yes, it is and it takes lots of yarn! I like the texture!

I like Crochet Crocodile Stitches... I liked the show that you brought us. Regards

Thank you!

que buen post mis saludos

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88