Upcycling project: very easy adult size T-shirt turn into kid's pants without using ruler

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

_20181022_095512.JPG
Sad thing is my husband gets fed up with wearing same T-shirt in few years time. To be honest, there is no way I could change his mind.... Really, he will be the way he is and I respect that....

On the other hand, my son needs a pants, but kids out grow in few years, so any way without buying them?....

THERE, I CAN SEE THERE IS A FIGURE OF SUPPLY AND DEMAND!!😄

_20181022_095921.JPG
Err..sorry it's a bit wrinkled up. This is adult M size. M or larger shirt would turn into a pair of pants fits elementary school kids. I know it isn't much but I guaranty you, it will be a comfy room wear😊.

**The best thing about T-shirt material is... No need to do anything about hiding the edges. It will rolls up a bit but that's about it, it won't get undone. No sweat!!!

And no measurements and ruler needed.
All you need is:

  • a pair of scissors
  • a needle and thread(or sewing machine)
  • an elastic

Step1
DSC_4301.JPG
Cut in half, and cut off the sleaves too.

Step2
_20181022_104217.JPG
Cut straight off the collar area, and bottom edges need to be cut about the width around 6cm/2inches. Roughly is fune.

Front collar is deeper, so when you cut them off, it would gets shorter than the back side. The bottom edges are needed to adjust this.

And as you see, that underarm will become crotch later!

Step3
DSC_4304.JPG
Cut to fit and stitch on the bottom edges to the top so they will all become even. Don't worry if not perfectly same.

Step4
DSC_4306.JPG
Open both pieces, they will look like this.

sketch-1540177693470.png
Overlap them and stitch together as shown.

Step5
DSC_4308.JPG
Rearrange the folding so the patched top comes front.

You could finish this by sewing the sides, taking care of upper edge and bottom edge, then pass the elastic through the upper edge.

Or continue to make a pocket... Actually no pants are good without pockets!

Step6
sketch-1540178535448.png
The sleeve you have cut off earlier, stitch 2 location as shown.

Step7
I was watching Baz Luhrmann's Moulin Rouge at this point. Maybe some of my tears dropped in to it😅!
DSC_4321.JPG
Attach the pocket to the side.
And stich the rest of the side together.

Take care of the bottom edge by folding and stitching. For the upper edge, fold around 3cm/1inch so elastic could go through.
By the way, all looks even now, folding did the magic, yes!!

DSC_4322.JPG
It's done!
I used 90% of the shirt!

DSC_4323.JPG
I also made hip picket with the other sleeve too!!😄

For a comparison, previously I used my husband's cotton collar shirt but it doesn't stretch so my son out grew quickly. I say T shirt is more flexible enough to suit longer😊.

It isn't much, really, what I do.

I have been trying to find out how to get things around and meet the best result as much as I could in the situation I am in.
Makes me happy and proud of myself😊.

What do you think?

All the images and work in this post is done by me, @naomipangolin

Sort:  

Great idea @naomipangolin! I’m curious though. You sew it using machine or by hands?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @viverridae! Long time no see ! Only hand for this. Just watching TV doing this😂📺 it took few days but if you use sewing machine , I'm sure you can finish in 1 to 2 hours😊

I am so gonna try this project. Thank you for the idea.

@viverridae Great wooo!! 😄 😄 😄 👌👌👌
He will love it!!
Just do slowly and don't mind small details la😁👌
After you make 1, 2nd one will be very easy😉😉😉

This is a neat way to use an old t-shirt! Looks cute too.

This is quite impressive @naomipangolin! I think it worked out wonderfully! They look very comfortable too! I love the added pocket! This is so inspirational for me as I embark this sewing journey! Thank you for sharing another amazing upcyle adventure with us!

If you would like to share your work with the community on days other than Monday, please use the #needlework tag (without the word Monday attached)! Thank you ~

Thank you, I am so glad you like it with such an enthusiasm ❤️❤️❤️ @crosheille!!! This one got no fancy wow factor😂 but I thought anyone who know sewing would understand and appreciate it❤️❤️❤️ And thanks for the new #tag😙

Thank you for your appreciation @jamethiel! This is not very fancy upcycling but it's fun to think like a puzzle😊

So glad you like it @chepmengeri😙❤️❤️❤️


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much for you attention @c-squared! Very encouraging 😄

Perfect way to use old stuff and save some money! And the pants look cool! Thank you for the idea!

Thank you @delishtreats, exactly!!! :)

That is quite amazing! You are very talented and I would imagine your son loves his comfortable new shorts!

Thank you for your appreciation @melinda010100! :)

This is sooooo clever!! Love it @naomipangolin :)

Pleasure and thank you so much for understanding my idea!! I am sooooo glad you like it!!! 😄 😄 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78