You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to appliqué, step by step. Create your own designs! Photo-rich and detailed tutorial!

Great post! I love the photos (especially of your room, which is beautiful and cosy. I love a wooden floor, sadly we don't have one and it is much too expensive to change it)
It is so helping to see you working. I always asked myself, if an applique should be seamed, but now I understand you do this in one step by using this very narrow criss-cross stitch.
And I still love the quilt design with the rounded stars <3
In the nearer future I want to make a simple half circle skirt with pockets which are sewn on. Can you recommend a tutorial, tips, ideas? I have never made pockets before....
20180507_153702300_iOS.jpg

Sort:  

Does a half circle skirt only have one seam down the length? Your drawing shows 2 but I'm not sure if you drew those lines to indicate actual seams or just the centers of the design :) If you're not dealing with side seams and you're going to be putting patch pockets on it, this is the method I'd go with (ignoring the "face" aspect, because the overall method works for any shape): http://www.sewing.org/html/face_patch_pockets.html

Full disclosure is that I've never made pockets before either, but the tutorial is something I'd do if I was going to make them! :))) @wondermaey or @naomipangolin are the clothing wizards, so they might also have good ideas!

The skirt I want to make with pockets is not a real circle skirt, because I made panels to save fabric :-D So the skirt will have 4 seams, front, back and on the sides. I would love to do the second pocket variation, but I have no idea how this kind of pockets are called (not in English neither in German, so researching is problematic)
But thank you for the link. I will watch how these kinds of pockets are done... and if I still don’t understand it I will perhaps include the question in my next post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67