The sock sequel

Frankenstein cardigan(31).png


Remember my grandiose Christmas present idea – the handknitted socks for my husband. I finished them. Really. All adverse conditions notwithstanding, e.g. me never having knitted a sock before, only having a week left to finish the socks, me knitting in combination style so nobody near me could help etc. I felt like a hero …
for about 5 minutes. After this I remembered that I must sew in the ends and I had a closer look at my socks. Oh dear (or better oh reindeer!) I made so many mistakes. Thankfully, I used a yarn in varying grey shades, so the mistakes are not too visible (in the dark or with closed eyes). But nevertheless, the socks were a hit. I finished one and a half for Christmas with a promise to get them done very soon. The fit is perfect (or the socks simply very stretchy :-D) and so I am happy with this adventure. So happy that I casted on a new pair.

Kopie von old neckline(15).png


For my husband’s socks I knitted the whole leg in a ribbing pattern of k3, p2. The heel I knitted in a slip stitch pattern to make it more resilient and the feet is in stockinette. The whole sock is knitted from the cuff down on dpns with a heel made with short rows. For my second pair I have chosen the same method (cuff downwards and on dpns) but as I wanted to make longer socks I knitted a shorter cuff in k2, p2 and then proceeded with stockinette. But I made another more noteworthy change: I used hand dyed yarn. In pink and brown – YEEEES!

Kopie von old neckline(14).png


Some time ago I dyed this one pink skein and loved it so much, that I never used it (do you know this effect? Liking something and wanting to spare it for something special?). And on the other hand, I had overdyed some ugly yellow coloured skeins with brown shades which were not so much nicer after the dyeing then before. This brown yarn was sleeping unloved in a box. As you perhaps have noticed the photo above you already know what I did: I combined them and I am currently knitting brown pink striped long socks. And I love the combination of colors. The brown no longer appears boring and the pink has its perfect special occasion I waited for: the first socks I knit for myself.

Design ohne Titel(166).png


As an afterthought – needles for sock knitting

I remember that here are some very experienced knitters and some who are wanting to learn to knit socks. One intimidating aspect of sock knitting is the choice of tool. I have made mine very conservative with dpns. And although I am normally a loose knitter this worked fine. I used Addi colibri needles which are made out of metal with a slightly rough surface so that the stitches glide well but also stay on the needles. The needles have two different tips; one is more pointy than the other. The needles are 15 cm long which also worked fine for me. I could not imagine using longer needles, this I think would have ben awkward.

Kopie von old neckline(13).png


But there are so many more possibilities. Very common is the magic loop method. I use this method very often to knit sleeves in the round. The big difference for me is, that sleeves have much more stitches and I do not need to constantly pull out the magic loop. For socks with their tiny stitch count I find this method less pleasant than dpns.
As I like Addi needles I also tested out their craSy Trio. This are three needles with a very short flexible cable part in the middle. They function like normal dpns but because they are not stiff they should work much easier than dpns. I tried them out for sleeves and I think I found them ok. But for me it was no revolution in comparison to dpns. Perhaps it is different when knitting socks with them.
The last new thing here on the market are small circumference circular needles. The have one longer and one short needle. I only tried them in a shop and could not get the hang of it. I could not position my hands accurately to insert the needles into my stitches with this short cable… but I think I will give it another try someday.
If you have a marvellous technique or tool for sock knitting - please share, so that we all can conquer the world of sock knitting together <3


Thank you @crosheille for iniciating and @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.


needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

Congratulations @neumannsalva! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this weeks @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Post!
Thank you for your quality post and for being apart of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Yipppeee thank you so much! I already checked your curation post and it is amazing, so many wonderful projects. I feel honoured to be included.

Whooo Hooo!! Congratulations on your husband’s finished pair of socks! They look really great, especially for your first pair, wow!

I am loving the pink and brown combo on your socks! I also love that you are using hand dyed yarn, so cool!

Thanks for the tips on the knitting needles, I am sure you will have plenty more as you continue working with socks. Yay! 💗

Thank you so much for the compliments! But I have to admit, I can see so maaaaany mistakes I made. But I have also learned a lot and hope the next pair will go more smoothly. My husband is dreaming about another pair of socks with a longer leg. Perhaps I will make some in yellow and brown, as I have more skeins of the brown yarn (I mean the one I used for the pink/brown socks)
Or I use it as an excuse to dye something completly different :-DDD

I believe your next pair will go more smoothly for you too! The more you make them the better! It’s great to hear your husband is dreaming of another pair! Have fun with all of the possible combinations ;D

Wow! For first socks, they turned out great! I love the yarn you choose and hope that your husband enjoys them!
The brown and pink are going to be a fun pair! Enjoy! I should warn you that socks can be addictive... I have a good friend who makes them constantly.
The weird curved needles are interesting. I suspect that I would not use them too often.
Happy Monday!

Oh no not another yarn related addiction 😆😆 (while writing this I am browsing ravelry for free sock patterns :-D) And with 'curved needle' do you mean the tiny 8 inch circular needle or the pair of three flexible dpns? If you mean the tiny circular one, I am with you... I find it also very strange, but a friend swears it is the best thing ever, so I want to give it a try someday.

The flexible dpns... so weird! I like knitting in the round on my size 2 circular needle. It took some getting used to but worked great for fingerless gloves and wrist warmers when I made them.
I dislike using dpn for the entire sock, a circular needle means that I am not stopping to change out needles constantly.
Have fun finding a few patterns!

Yes, the stopping with dpns is annoying. I also must arrange the needles every time, so that the active on the left hand lies over the right one... not sure if everybody does it this way. For the next pair I will test the small circular one :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Love that hand dyed yawn! Gives such a taste! And interesting flexible knitting needle... Will check my local hobby store. Oh no... long time no knitting :(
Thank you for sharing, inspiring post!

Thank you <3 Yarn dyeing is so addictive. But sadly not very cheap as the raw wool is very expensive here. And with the needles... if you ever try them out, I am very curious what you think about them :-)

Wow !!!! you made it!!!!! great !!!!! I congratulate you!!!! pink and brown - I did not think that they are combined together. Looks very nice. I will wait for the final result

Thank you so much <3 And I also would have never thought of combining this two colours but now I find them very cheery together. But two days ago i made some stupid mistakes with the striped socks and had to unravel ... grrrrrr

😍, they look super comfortable and perfect, @neumannsalva ! The knitting needles look 'interesting' in that the cable seems to short for my understanding but as long as one can knit comfortably...

I've been knitting a hat for the last couple of days and it's been really uncomfortable dealing with the long cable and pulling stitches to accommodate the knitting...

This tiny circular needle is strange... I still have not tried it at home, only in the shop and I am not sure I had the right grip for it. But a knitting friend of mine loves this kind of needle and I thought I will try it someday.
And with the magic loop method, i am with you.... This constant pulling on the cable disrupts the knitting flow. That’s the reason I mostly knit sleeves (in top-down constructions) or hats flat. But for the socks I could not find a solution how to knit them flat :-DDD

I have actually seen socks knitted flat, @neumannsalva, but the sewing then needs to be really neat so it's not uncomfortable.

oh no this means sewing versus dpns.... a new dilemma 😄😄😄
But nevertheless, I will research flat knit socks, this sounds very interesting.

Only this morning while having a coffee, for no reason at all, I remembered your pre-Christmas mad rush to finish the socks...
and now I'm reading this, must be telepathy :-)

So happy to see your accomplishment,! I'm sure your husband will wear the socks forever :-)

Your pink-brown striped socks seem to be coming along beautifully, this colour combination is really lovely :-) Looking forward to sock sequel 2 !

Thank you!!! We will see if I this will be a perennial hit 😆😆😆 But I sadly have to admit, that i made some stupid mistakes on the striped socks and I had to unravel a big chunk, so they will need a bit more time.
I hope you are well and survived the end of year stress <3

Let's it hope it will make to the top ten Hits of your husband's wardrobe :DDD
Oh, those mistakes... I feel your pain, have been in a similar situation myself...
Yea, survived the end/start of year madness and still standing, like most of us :DD
All the best with those socks!

Wonderful! I love the shades of gray and the pink and brown combo, too.

Thank you so much. My husband was also very pleased and has now ideas about another pair of socks with a longer leg :-D

Congratulations @neumannsalva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05