needleworkmonday - African print /lace

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180709_112100_873.jpg
Hi guys,
Hope we are all doing pretty great. I am pretty excited today because I have the opportunity to make an early Needleworkmonday post (as opposed to last week) and I get to really enjoy every other person's art on this platform.
So remember I talked about my mum not being around about the time I was making my Great Waves material dress, well she actually went to see her mum who was pretty unwell and lived in another state from us. She had to undergo an operation and she's recovering, so Momma went to stay with her a while. When Momma got back I saw that my grandma actually gave me some materials. I was super thrilled of course and some were really big in length while others were really small.
This particular dress I made is from one of the pretty small ones. It wasn't even enough to make me a full dress and I know how slim I am lol!! So I improvised by adding a lace to the top
While still insisting on trying to manage the material I had to join pieces of it to the hip (won't it have been better if I just made a simple blouse with it? Nah my stubborn head wanted a dress 🤦🤦)
Well this is the fun part : I join it inside out and upside down. Inside out meaning I joined the front to the back instead of front to front and Upside down meaning hip side became the leg part and the leg part became the hip!
I was so frustrated tired at that point that I left it like that😔. Thankfully, It doesn't really show because the front and the back of the dress are so alike and the joined part was just very very little (phew!)Well I'm just here, hoping grandma will be happy if she sees the transformation of her material .
IMG_20180707_155938.jpg
IMG_20180709_104453_196.jpg
IMG_20180709_112100_874.jpg

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Nice! I love yellow and blue together. :)

Thanks, I put that into consideration when choosing the lace☺

Thank you @fibrefrau 😀and thanks for upvoting comments on my post

I agree with you: this fabric is perfect for dresses. the pattern looks great. be sure to send your grandmother a photo where you are in the dress. she will be very pleased!

I'm glad you also see my point on the dress @tali72 . Yeah I'll send it to her she's not really an internet person tho so I'll send a picture when next my mom goes over.

Good idea with the yellow lace part. And perhaps your subconsciousness knew that the dress would look better this way?

Lol Yeah @muscara it was probably my subconscious. Thanks for your comment

The dress is gorgeous @wondermaey! The lace on top works really well with the colors of the pattern on the fabric.

How nice of you to comment on my post @marblely :)

I am sure you could wear a sackcloth and you would look great, so I cannot tell that there is a mistake: I only see a beautiful dress and a beuatful woman.
The idea with the yellow lace is perfect and harmonizes very well with the blue fabric. As ever I have no idea how you manage to make such amazing dresses without a pattern <3

Aww the praises she rains on me 😍 thank you @neumannsalva, I doing skips with my heart just for reading your endearing words. Yeah I like the combo as well. I think someday I'll make a video on cutting without a pattern but honestly, patterns make the work all easy so it is much more preferable.

Such a video would be a hit!!! I think on steemit there is no sewing tutorial video.. perhaps if you have a bit more time you could try it out ❤️

I will,thanks for pointing my mind in that direction 😘

Beautiful dress and very colorful. Regards

Thanks @jicrochet ,regards too from Africa ☺

Hi @wondermaey! Finally I get to see fellow steemian post today, and glad I found your new creation! It's very refreshing for me to see African patterns. I'm in tropical country so colorful textiles are common, but do seems different. Not sure how I should put....hmmmm. anyway, love the dress, sexy one😍

Hi @naomipangolin! Thanks for your comment, hope you're travel experience is going great!

It turned out lovely! I can’t even tell there was a mistake. I love the colors in the dress and that yellow lace is beautiful. You wear dresses so well. 💜

You're too kind with your words, yeah the mistake is very little but it can be spotted in the picture with the joining. Thanks for viewing my post ☺@croshielle

For sure! It’s always my pleasure~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01