You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunrise In The Himalayas

in #nepal6 years ago

That first shot has really nice color tones and atmosphere going on. i like the trees in the foregroudn, too.

Ugh about the computer! Thta's never fun. It takes so long to get it up and running again, too!

A windows 10 update required me to wipe and completely reinstall earlier this year but, fortunately, I was able to back up some important files first. Good thing I remembered how to use DOS...

Sort:  

A windows 10 update required me to wipe and completely reinstall earlier this year

That was probably the one that caused all the problems for me.

I couldn't do anything with my computer at all after the update. Couldn't do all the stuff I used to be able to do with previous versions of Windows so had to take it to a shop.

I thought they were going to be able be able to get into the back end and roll the version back or something.

Instead of that they reinstalled Windows, without asking me if that was OK, and wiped all my files. I could have done that myself! 😱

I tried a software restorer software but couldn't retrieve any photos undamaged. They'd all been written over. 😢

Oh no! Did you have Avast free antivirus installed? That's what got mine. There was some sort of problem with the free version and the update, caused a lot of problems for a lot of people. There was absolutely no way to recover it, either.

To save my files, though, I managed to boot the computer to DOS and manually copy files to a portable hard drive. I'm sure I missed a few things, but that's life :-P

I hoipe they didn't charge too much for a reinstall. It's a little time consuming, especially reinstalling all the software and getting updates, but, as you say, is something most of us can do on our own.

I do have AVAST installed and what you discovered is and did is what I was expecting the shop to do. That's what I was paying them for. Their expertise.

As I say, I could have done a reinstall myself and I would have waiting for my son to try something like boot to DOS. I wasn't able to get into the booting process at all. All the usual tricks didn't work.

Basically, I paid them £40 to wipe out hours and hours of work. I'd spent weekd sorting my photographs into folders, for example, so I knew which ones I'd posted to Steemit and which ones I hadn't. And I only had the edited version on my computer so I'm having to do all that work again.

You can be sure I will not be using that shop in the future. It upsets me all over again writing about it. 😢

Grrrrrrr!

Ouch! Well did luck with getting everything back to normal. I'd suggest using AVG free antivirus for awhile, since software companies don't seem to have fixed the problem.

I think I'd rather be working on my computer today... Day One of a week of meetings is going to be tough, especially after staying up late to watch meteors.

You are very lucky that you got to see the meteors @fotosdenada.

We had complete cloud cover here. &#128546

I'm confused now. I can't remember if I had AVAST or AVG. I've used both in the past.

When I went to check I realised that they wiped off my antivirus software too and I haven't gotten around to replacing it. Oops! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91