“Impending Mortality”

in #new-writing6 years ago

clyde-thomas-695470-unsplash.jpg

There are times in one’s life when one when one finds oneself
Faced with one’s impending mortality.
We live our lives in stages;
First we are infants and blithely

Then we are children and full of innocence,
Then we grow up and innocence is lost.

We go through that foolish time when
We feel we are “ten feet tall and bulletproof”
Taking stupid risks, uncaring of the
Possible (read probable)

Drunk driving, uncaring use of
Illegal and dangerous substances.

Years go by, the body is worn out.
A kind of wisdom settles in,
But is it too late?

In the near ground, all is rocks and desolation;
In the distance the future is obscured and

IS there a future for me?
What will tomorrow bring?
Will I die in this minor surgery?
Will I live to get a new hip?
Will I find a new and
Better place to live?
Only tomorrow will tell.

“Impending Mortality”

by
Jerry E Smith
©9/16/18


A word of explanation, if you haven't been following my saga.
For more than I year I was in pain, increasing pain, which the Veterans Administration
(the VA where I got all my medical care) said it was 'sciatica' and was treating me for
That, but I knew and insisted that it was my hip.
I proved right, after almost exactly a year when in June I got an outside medical
Examination and diagnosis; I need a hip replacement.
So tomorrow I'm going for a often postponed cosmetic surgery, the hip replacement
Will be at the VA's GLACIAL pace, and all the while I am still in pain.
Then on top of everything, I may be forced to move sometime
In the next two months, at just about the time I hope to be having the hip surgery.


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



Sort:  

Wonderful perspective. 41 years old here and not a drop of alcohol for about 6 days now.

♫♪You've only just begun, to live♫♪
I've not had any alcohol since July 2, 2008. Those 6 days are important
And I congratulate you, but you MUST stick to it now.♥
Let me know if I can help.

Thanks Jerry, and very good on you Sir! It is looking more possible all the time. I think the trickiest bit for some is getting their head around this thought of 'never having a drink again'. When we are still a drinker, no matter just a social/average 'not an alcoholic' drinker ... Our BRAIN is tricked to make this 'never touch it again' lark seem like a life sentence. So, perhaps it is not - the incredible thing is after 6-7 days the prospect of 90 days to me now seems something I'm ready for. I couldn't have imagined it 2 weeks ago.

As soon as you stop it completely, few days the brain is thinking so rational and calm in a way i didn't experience for years. Every raindrop, bird and cricket chirp feels like HDTV Hi-Fi. Parts of body are gurgling and working again, appetite and taste of food is awesome. No desire to drink again. So odd, yet so good.

My question to you - is this too good to be true? What must I really watch out for now, keeping in mind I'm actually really enjoying the experience right now ....

Post coming soon about this!

Loading...

None of us are getting out alive my friend...

Thanks for commenting Paul, but really? That's all you got outta
My laying my life bare?
I've written numerous times along the theme that "Life is a
Terminal Condition" (no one gets out alive)... so this is a
Situation I am well aware of.
I've endured pain, unnecessary pain, inept medical Dr's and
Lack of treatment for a year...is that not something to take
Note of? Is that a part of the 'normal progression of age?'

I'm an old man now, I live alone, I have no friends and
No family close by...iow...I am alone in my endurance,
With no one to share, no one to seek comfort from.
THIS is what I was intending to express here.

Oh... wow... thats deep. Where are you located?

I currently live in one of the most dangerous parts of Atlanta Ga. in a low income, gov't subsidized, transitional/supportive Housing Facility, 2 rms, 395 sq ft of space.
I'm about to have to move to a real low income senior facility which will take 1/3 of my monthly income, which is already low, but I get by.
I don't know if I can make ends meet, pay for insurance (car) Internet and phone, gasoline etc... on the approx $430 that I will have left after they take their 1/3.
I am hurting and depressed.
Sorry for unloading on you @paulmoon410

Hey I’ll share your posts... maybe increase your revenue. I’m sorry I’m too far away to help... Let me rattle some ideas around...

Thank you my friend. Where are you located?
I appreciate any help, but don't share my stuff unless you
Really like it, or think it worthy.
Be well @paulmoon410

This is awful, Jerry! To wait this long for first a proper diagnosis and then even longer for the hip replacement. My cousin had to wait two years for his but his life is much better now. At least he is pain-free. They shouldn't screw around with the veterans. You guys served your country they should take care of you!

You will not get any argument on that from me, I do feel better,
Knowing that there is an end in sight, and during all this
I've learned what to do and what not to do, so I'm
Actually getting around (for the most part)
With a lot less pain than in the Spring
When I knew what the issue was
But the VA was disagreeing
With me. That period
Of time was pure
Agony for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04