Steemit Survivor Contest PRE-ANNOUCEMENT - 20 SBD Grand Prize!

in #newbiegames6 years ago

Confession Time

I have a confession to make: @suitcasemama and I are massive fans of the American version of Survivor. As soon as one season ends, we can't wait until the next one starts. We pick then root for our favorites contestants. We have post-episode chats about strategy and who we think is next to get voted off the island. I even applied to be a contestant on the show, a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away.

7i80ym2hqp.jpg
Source: CBS

We know, we know - while innovative in 2000 when the first season aired, after 18 years and 36 seasons this is a dinosaur of a show. And although it may be responsible for the onslaught of reality competition shows we still love it. It's actually one of the few TV shows we regularly watch. We just aren't able to tear ourselves away.

It's like watching a car crash. Without the cars of course, they're on an island silly!

Only sand, sea, and crushed dreams.

Perfect!

Tell Me About The Contest, Tell Me About The Prizes!

With the new season of Survivor - David vs. Goliath (set in Mamanuca Islands‎, Fiji) starting September 26th (less that 50 days away people!) I thought it would be fun to set up a competition. This is a bit of an exploratory post to see if there's even enough Survivor fans to participate, but this is what I was thinking:

  • Grand Prize: This would be for guessing the eventual Sole Survivor, the winner of the entire season. All guesses would be locked in before the season begins. This is very hard to do so the prize would be at least 20 SBD (or Steem) to match the difficulty of correctly choosing the winner out of the 20 initial contestants. Don't worry if you notice that I don’t actually have 20 SBD at the moment - I will take a break from my usual strategy of immediately powering up to save up for the prize and should have 20 SBD by the time the Survivor winner is announced.
  • Weekly Prize: Following each episode, I will run a weekly contest inviting participants to guess who they think the next person voted off will be. The prize will be the SBD earned from that post. There are usually about 14 episodes, so plenty of chances to participate!

I'm still working out the details and something funky is happening with SBD going to $0 in the payouts (hat tip to @rentmoney for noticing and sharing on his blog) but those are the broad strokes of the contest.

Next steps

  • Assuming there's enough interest, I'll do a few more posts as we wait for Survivor to release the names and profiles of the contestants. I'll clarify the rules and the prizes.
  • Once the contestants are announced I'll invite Steemit participants to guess who will be the Sole Survivor. All guesses will have to be locked in before the season starts. Then watch and root for your choice!
  • I will also start the weekly "guess who will be voted out next" competition as well. A typical season will have about 14 episodes, so plenty of chances to guess and win!

How you can get involved

  • Let me know if you're also a fan and want to participate!
  • Tag friends who may be interested in the comments below to spread the word

If any one wants to contribute to the prize pool, let me know and we'll add it to the pot.

To review: Survivor! Tag a friend! Help get the word out! Sponsors welcome! Stay tuned!


Enjoy this post? Learn more about me here:
Allow Me to Introduce Myself! | Husband / Father / Humanitarian / Traveler / Expat Abroad

x8d9e78ncq.png

Follow @eoj and check out my other recent posts:

I'm also running a super nerdy Top Ten Cryptocurrency Experiement for 2018 over at my @starthere account. Check it out if you're into that sort of thing...


 
Meso banner2.png

Proud member of @tcpolymath's @themesopotamians initiative. Learn more about it and how you can get involved here


 
@eoj is also kindly supported by 100 SP delegation for 45 days by @minnowfund:

Minnowfund.png

And by @steemfunding - 50 SP delegation until I reach 100 SP:

Steemfunding 3.png

A big thanks to both @minnowfund and @steemfunding!

Sort:  

I want in for sure! #alsohappytobeasponsor

4802E7C7-02A4-446B-ADB6-BC11BE8AC182.gif

#awesome! Thanks so much man, glad to have you aboard!

Let me know if you want to sponsor the overall pick-the-winner contest or the weekly who-will-be-voted-out contest :) The plan at the moment is to offer the big 20 SBD/STEEM prize to the person who picks the overall winner, then give out the SBD/STEEM of the weekly who-will-be-voted-out posts. Any support to any part of the contest very welcome!

No worries, I will send you a message on discord to work it out. #ihaveagoodidea

Cool, I'll look for you there!

I'm in!!!!!

Haha, I should hope so!!! :)

I really love the initiative @eoj !

I watched and enjoyed the Belgian Edition of Survivor in the past (it's called Expedition Robinson here) and believe it will make its return on tv somewhere next month.

Good luck with your contest and finding some like minded steemians who also enjoy following how it all plays out !

Thanks so much for stopping by all the way from Belgium with the kind words! Survivor feels a bit like a guilty pleasure, but @suitcasemama and I love it! 😎

Let me know if you want to join - you technically don't need to watch, just make a guess on who will win ;)

Warm greetings from Thailand!

I enjoy watching that show where people get married without knowing each other, so yeah talk about guilty pleasures :-) . I'll leave the contest for the ones that actually watch and follow survivor. Good luck and enjoy @eoj !

Whoa, that IS a guilty pleasure! Haha! I've never seen that show, but I can't imagine it goes well often! :)

You'd be surprised :)
Each year there is at least 1 couple that succeeds, it's the perfect combination of feel good TV for the ones that di click with some couples that don't really match which gives a lot of awkward and funny situations.

Wow, that is surprising! Well, I guess it's like a 21st century reality TV version of an arranged marriage, so yeah, I guess some of them should work! :)

Not a show I watch, but fun idea. If you decide to explore more options for this message me on discord (thedarkhorse #6765).

Was brought here from @rentmoney's entry post to Week 20 of the PIFC Curation Contest.

Thanks for stopping by and for the upvote @thedarkhorse! I'd love any advice or ideas, I'll look for you on Discord!

And thanks of course to @rentmoney for featuring me in his @pifc entry post!

Cool! I re-steemed it

Yay! Thank you! Are you gonna play? Are you a nerdy Survivor fan like @suitcasemama and I? :)

My dad is! He likes to watch it! Oh he also likes the amazing race, do you guys like that?

My mom is too! Maybe that's part of the reason I still like it, I have great memories of watching with mom. We used to watch the Amazing Race together too, but have kind of lost track of that show over the years :)

Hell yes!
Super Survivor fan here. I've been watching it from the start.

@fronttowardenemy I know you would be all over this.

Awesome, glad you made contact and welcome to the island! I'm making a note of all interested players, stay tuned for the coming announcement and rules, probably in a few weeks when they announce the cast :) @fronttowardenemy, you're very welcome to join as well!

Totally down for this. I LOVE survivor. 😍

Great, Survivor nerds unite! :) I'm so glad you reached out and am making a note that you're interested in participating. Welcome!

Yay. I am not even sure how I found you. Someone resteemed you into my feed! 😃

I'm betting it was @nomadicsoul and will thank her in ALL CAPS in HONOR of our SHARED PRESIDENT - even it wasn't her. Reality is what we make it, right?

THANK YOU @nomadicsoul!!!! :) :) :)

Es increible como ya han pasado 18 años desde que se emitió el primer programa de SURVIVOR, @eoj estaré muy al pendiente para participar en tu concurso

Yay! Me alegre que vayas participar, eres muy bienvenida! Yo tambien no puedo creer que ya ha pasado tanto tiempo!!! Ya soy anciano!!! :)

Hola @eoj, me gusto tu post, eres bienvenido, a participar y seguir trabajando por la comunidad, llegue a tu post porque @rentmoney presentó tu publicación en esta semana Concurso de pago por adelantado si estas interesado click Aqui

Muchas gracias a ti y muchas gracias a @rentmoney tambien! Y claro, a @pifc por el concurso!!! Saludos desde Thailand!😎

I nominated you in the Pay It Forward contest. Hopefully it will bring some more eyes on your cool contest. I have only watched a few episode of survivor but will certainly participate in your contest.

Link to nomination post.
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@rentmoney/pay-it-forward-week-20-my-entries

You did? Hey, thanks so much @rentmoney, that's very kind of you and high praise from the master of contests himself! ;) I hope you win the Pay It Forward Contest!

Also, glad to know you'll participate! I'm saving up my Steem, so a lucky guess might win you 20 SBD or Steem! :)

Thanks again @rentmoney!

Your welcome .. hopefully you are picked for a @steembasicincome share.

Hmmmm #masterofcontest ..... another accolade I will happily concede to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97