You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: **{Dorky Contest #1}**

in #newbiegames6 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry for my of a tale of woe

Scene Mid Afternoon A pasty network technician sits at a Computer with a concerned look on his face.....

So there I was, another administrator had implemented drive quotas on my NAS. This box was supposed to be just for bulk file warm storage and alternative backups before pushing them to tape on the weekends. But it got worked into front line storage with no backup with out my knowledge.

This fails horribly and in the process sets every directory to read only. Nothing I can do will give me write access to this shitbox of 12TB. So I get on the phone with the manufacturer that rimes with WetBeer.

Their tier 3 support guy gets on and fixes the NAS where the quotas are removed and suddenly I have full change access again.... Unfortunately in the process of getting it back the NAS started deleting all the file folders and data.

I was able to get some of the user data off to a 4tb USB drive while the NAS was chomping through the 6TB of backup data that I had. Unfortunately there I was with a blank box, Riding dirty with no daily backups for the past week and only about 75% of the user data that others stuck on that thing.

I set up my backups to run immediately
Restored the files as best as I could from that USB drive.
And let the CIO know what happened...

Moral of the story

Two is one, and one is none... I am now mirroring this NAS against another in one of our other facilities but I am still wary of keeping all my warm data on it again. And a RAID is not a backup medium.

So there ya have it this is my biggest Noob type mistake after almost 20 years in field. And it just so happened to be recently.

Sort:  

Wow! Unfortunately I’m so NOT tech savvy I have no idea what you just said! Sounds like a total cluster f*%k though! I have some wetbeer equipment that sucks, so I got that part! Lol! I love your details. Very funny! Thx for sharing @motinkergnome! Love your name too btw ;)

Congratulations, this Newbie Nickel has been sponsored by #steemitcommentchallenge!


#newbieresteemday highly recommends this sponsor!

Thanks Simplymike

@motinkergnome, will you please check to see if you’ve upvoted the contest post? I don’t see your vote, but it is possible I missed the notification. I’d hate for your wetbeer story to miss out! 😀

@pretty.dorky I did neglect the thumb up vote thank you for catching that and keeping me honest. If anyone knows of a good enterprise Network Attached Storage please let me know. I may have this GetNear one going to get whacked like the printer in "Officespace".

Detail police... it was a fax machine 😜

That is Ok though as I was playing Ghetto Boys all morning in honor of the fax machine. :)

I love that Movie! So funny!!

Lol you’ve got all kinds of funny rhymes for LetMere! I admit, mine sucks. I just sat here going through possible rhymes... that’s the best I came up with after at least a WHOLE 45 seconds of thinking. 😝
FDC94474-DA54-4F87-B261-414A474D9EAD.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67