eBay denied accepting cryptocurrencies - Consensus 2019 Update

in #news5 years ago (edited)

kt74pptuuz.png
source

Well, some of you might have seen the Leak of that eBay Banner at Consensus 2019, which is one the biggest Crypto-related conferences as of now.

spq7ayu8en.png

https://twitter.com/ImNotTheWolf/status/1127696721230934019

This has led to many people believing that eBay will soon accept cryptocurrencies as a form of payment, which might have been a huge step towards mass adoption.
Even though skeptics said this would negatively affect their Paypal revenue because people would move away from that due to the high fees.

But now eBay made it official and stated in a response to cryptonews.com that “Cryptocurrency is not accepted as a form of payment on the eBay platform, nor is it part of our payments strategy”.

eBay clarified that the photo was misunderstood and they were trying to express that eBay has a variety of crypto-related items on their marketplace such as equipment for virtual currency mining.

Personally, I think they should have been more clear with their banner and not put a slogan that can be interpreted in many different ways.

Let me know what you think.

Sort:  

Yep that's misleading alright. At least they've cleared it up now. They're just jumping on the bandwagon maybe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah man, that's a bummer! I was all excited when I first heard about it. I bet eventually they'll change there minds and go crypto.

Yep, I hope so too. But I got time, I‘ll fill my bags in the meantime. 😎👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Keep up the good work. It will start paying of eventually :0)

Congratulations, you have been upvoted and resteemed by @newbieresteemday!

newbieresteemday.png

Do you want to meet more people, get an answer to your questions and/orpromote your post? Join the Steem Terminal Discord server HERE.

Thank you so much 😊!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @patrizius92! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for the heads up. I hadn't heard about this.
It' a shame, though... but I think crypto is still too volatile to be used on sites like eBay

P.S.: Do remember to source your images. The one at the top is not sourced.
You can find a great post about how and why to source your images HERE

Thanks Mike, oh I found that on pixabay and it was free to use even for commercial usage. Do people usually still link those with a source?

I‘ll edit the post later when I am home if necessary.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep. Even when pics are royalty-free, you need to source them. Pixabay is a great resource, isn't it? I use it all the time.

Also, if you source, you should link to the exact page you downloaded that image from, not just pixabay.com

Oh thanks, I didn‘t know that you‘d even have to link those.
The link was very helpful again, I updated it now and will keep it in mind if I use any pictures other than my own. 😎👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has received a free upvote by @OnePageX
OnePageX.com is the fastest way to convert STEEM and other assets to over 140 cryptocurrencies!

Great Rates, Low Fees & Fast Crypto Exchanges!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74