You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #NewSteem: On this 'social' blockchain, do you consider yourself a HypeBeast? a FilthyRich? a DoomsdayPrepper? or a simple Influencer?

in #newsteem5 years ago (edited)

I did it, I clicked the unclickable. (Edit: I realize that made no sense at all, and is probably a side effect of reading a copious amount of text today ) without checking the link on steemworld first. So I guess I'm either crazy or just trust you for some reason ;) It did take me longer to read than the insurance claim he filed. That is pretty wild.

Logically speaking, it might be illogical to assume people will understand what will drive intrinsic value, and I don't think automation is doing us any favors at all.

I run some autos, and I check each and every post I vote (I didn't always, but I'm trying to be better with a system I see as worse.) I want to like the new curation system, but I'm seeing the lack of engagement, and circle jerks that are just as tight as ever. I didn't expect that to change. Curation window changes, auto cast time changes. Some are making a valiant effort to curate manually, but it doesn't change the fact that plenty still automate completely.

My personal opinion is it's fine to automate if you want to support someone and find their content agreeable. It's a great way to maximize your curation rewards right? Per the design of the system, which seems to have an obvious intentional design for automation, otherwise they would have forked that curation window shit out right? I think it's still appropriate to monitor autos and stop by for a comment once in a while at least, regardless of potential gain. (people waste all day on facebook for nothing right?) Autos screw it up I think. A manual vote cast, based on agreeable content, is more likely to spark some conversation.

The curation window still screws up manual curation I believe, because manual curators are hunting for posts which are 4 minutes old now, and don't want to waste time commenting.

Speaking of which, I'm 45 minutes in, clicked every link, watched the video, and have enjoyed myself. I don't give a damn if I make a penny off this comment. Would it be nice if some big willy saw it and hooked me up? Sure, is it likely.. pffff... doubtful.

Where the hell did @gentlebot go.. oh. powering down :(

I think I'm the doomsday prepper type. So I probably don't need to make my browser spaz out with:

Let us open 100 tabs of pure madness to fool trackers into thinking you're someone else.

That's great though, I'm always finding cool stuff on your blog!

Thank you for the thought provoking article.

PS. I've never heard of the band Red Cross until today.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48