Next Colony Defeats

in #nextcolony5 years ago (edited)

I've kept on playing Next Colony, though sometimes I question if it's worth the time I put in. I'm definitely not as devoted as some, but it's some time. I have absolutely no interest in battling, but I've found that I have had to build some offensive ships out of necessity.

When I just had explorers and transporters I was getting knocked around a fair bit. So I built some Corvettes and Destroyers. And that seemed to dissaude attackers for a time. But lately I've been getting seiged and attacked by huge numbers of ships. And they're all timed such that I can't do anything to defend against it, because when my fleet returns my planet is under seige, and then the attack comes.

So I build up my fleet for a while, do some exploring, and then get my fleet wiped out and basically have to start over. Here are some of my most recent defeats.

This one wasn't too bad, but it was timed such that it happened overnight while I slept. By the time I knew it was happening, my fleet was gone and my planet was under seige. The 2nd attack was to destroy all my ships that came back from exploring after the first attack happened.

Screenshot_20190908-215902~2.png

This was a similar situation, but with the numbers amped way up. Unnecessarily so I would add. All I had on the planet at this time was explorers.

Screenshot_20190908-215524~2.png

This next was the one that seemed like the cheapest shot. It happened just after the recent Steem block chain outage. So Steem was down for days, and once the chain was back, it took a while for auxiliary services like steemconnect and the next colony gui client to come back. Which meant I couldn't get in through the normal channels, so I just didn't worry about it too much. When I got back on, I was greeted by this:

Screenshot_20190908-215518~2.png

It was over before I could get logged in. Even if I had been able to see it coming, there's nothing I could do against those numbers. Here's what I lost. The attacker lost 7 ships. 7.

Screenshot_20190908-222428~2.png

Seven.

Sort:  

Greetings from @captain.kirk ;)

Hi there. I've seen we're exploring some of the same territory. Glad we've been able to keep things civil.

By the way, if you buy a single DACH token, you are member of the @dachcolony ;)

What rights and privileges does membership bring? What are DACH's core values? Do you have a brochure I can read?

We are the good ones ;)

Sorry, that I'm exploring so fast :)

I don't begrudge anyone their right to explore. It's the unprovoked attacks and exploration sniping I can't stand.

Ugh. I’ve been fortunate enough that I’ve encountered no hostiles yet. I’m slowly building up and could muster a few hundred ships at the moment. Given time to build up some more I’ll gladly lend a hand someday, maybe break a siege or two if I can!

Thanks, Man. I appreciate the offer, but it looks like we're a couple days away from each other. It never hurts to have friends across the galaxy, though.

I noticed that attack and talked about it with some of the attacking clan. Soon all middle size players will quit the game I bet or have already. The Koreans and others become so big. I still can compete due to delta clan membership and my large fleet. Check flipstar who is attacked every day by fur2002ks.

Wow, that's brutal. There wouldn't even be much point in playing in that situation. I've definitely thought about exiting, but I at least want to see what the wonders of the universe and the rewards system end up being. I'm not holding out a lot of hope, though.

Hello, neighbor :)
I have stop exploring the space 3 weeks ago because of all the reasons which you have written and I'm preparing to quit the game if next update won't change anything. It is very sad that the developers of this game didn't ban all accounts which are run using bots. The bots are spoiling the game for everyone, except the biggest players :(

Hello, nice to meet you. I've also been loosely thinking about my exit strategy. The thing I don't get is why the big players want to blow us out of space. Are they trying to get people to quit? Surely that can't be good for the game long term. Maybe they haven't thought that far ahead, and are just chasing stats?

I also agree that bots are not healthy for the game long term, but I'm not sure how much could be done about them and still maintain the openness of the game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79