Nigerian Education needs reformation

in #nigeria5 years ago

The phrase "be careful what you wish for because you just might get it" doesn't sound scary on the surface but when critically looked at, it really is a scary thought.

All my life, I dreamt about being an engineer. I was excited at the prospect of building cool stuff and getting super rich from doing it. I guess that's what happens when you spend too much time watching Dexter's laboratory. He's an American kid with a Russian accent, a secret lab and a sister with a brain that's about the size of a peanut.


pixabay

Reality is cruel and I've been living in it. It is very important to state that my country is not a friendly place to live in, the place is rife with mechanisms to keep you and your lofty dream at bay. If it isn't an uncompromising lecturer, it is the police or your family members, constantly singing it in your ears how you're not worth it. If they don't get you down then I'm very sure the government will. I always wanted to be an Engineer and here I am, years later with a bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering and studying for a Masters in Aerospace Engineering but still having no clue as to where I actually fit in the general scheme of things.

Engineering in Nigeria is focused on maintenance and I am only finding this out now, after 6 years of education. The funniest part is that we spend so much time solving irrelevant questions that only feed the fragile egos of the small men they make our professors. I guess the professors don't also know better and just dwell on the pointless scrutiny of square pegs in triangular holes. Our courses are generally geared towards design when the industry is geared towards maintenance; therefore virtually every Nigerian Engineering graduate is actually unfit for employment.

Sort:  

This is unfortunately so with many graduates even in South Africa , the paper means nothing. !tipuvote 1

It is very frustrating how the system does you here but alas, we keep moving.
On a lighjter note, I saw a video of some thick women jumping up and down with spears and some funny spade shaped shield and of course their breasts hanging out. The video poster stated that it is a culture in Kwazulu Nathal(I might be getting the spelling wrong). The moral of the story is that I am moving to that place and I want to be smothered(preferrably to deah) by two or three of those breasts at once.

Haha yeah still some villages in Kwazulu Natal - the Zulu tribes... not sure what they call the groups it all tribes to me. I think you might want to kit up though because although the women seem appealing the men will decapitate yo ass.

This post is supported by $1.4 @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service: instant, profitable upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00