You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [CR] Squishy the cuttlefish has leveled up!

in #ntopaz5 years ago

I genuinely thought the first image was a photo. I only feel a little silly, a lot of underwater creatures have those photos where its just them on a black background. Bad ass work here, got a possibly translucent skin feel down.

Sort:  

Really? Thank you!!!! It’s been awhile since I’ve devoted this much attention to detail but I’m glad that I did. :D

If there was no little white droop on that white eye it feels like a very photo realistic image to me still.

So while writing this reply, in another tab I Google to find some cuttlefish and other sea life photos on black backgrounds to show as example of what I mean, I believe I might have ran into the photo you used as a model for your drawing, and I believe your drawing looks more real the than photo lol. Also damn lol my comment was about the white droopy part seems to be a real detail on the cuttlefish.

Edit: Just seen the post where this began https://steemit.com/ntopaz/@vermillionfox/ntopaz--vermillionfox--1351541757--ntopaz-art-drawing-blog-artzone--2019-01-09-16-16-45--artwork--none it is amazing what a black background can do with some colors blended that just give a beautiful glow. Awesome art!

Yep that’s the photo I referenced! When I first started this drawing I was going to make the cuttlefish glow. I had a soft halo around the entire body but then the contrast was lost. It became much easier for me to get a cool look without overthinking it with the glow. Really glad that you liked this! I spent a little over 6 hours on it so it better look real!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66