Colladisks. Entry for crafts contest, sponsored by nTopaz.

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

Colladiscs was a simple but effective decoration project based on my old cd and dvd discs. I am a big fan of recycling in both idea and execution and i constantly searching discarded items to give them a new life through my art. I believe that it is vital for our future to have a recycling mindset and leave behind the consumer mentality that was dictated to us in our life.

2.jpg

The first thing i did with the cd's was to spray paint them black and then started gluing spare paper pieces from previous collage projects. I used a stick glue and created different patterns for each one, trying to be creative but also have fun. After that i had a stack of decorated discs and started assembling them using a hot glue gun for a strong result. I tried to create themed composition, some inspired by nature and some had my favourite mechanical theme.

4.jpg

What i found out in the end and it was quite the surprise, was that the holes help a lot to mount them on a wall with small nails and make a larger composition with a lot of them. It is a simple project, but it can become a very impressive artwork if someone puts a lot of hard work and imagination to it. Maybe in the future i will go for a bigger and more complex theme, for sure i have hundreds of old discs ready to be used:)

3.jpg

It is a project i created a while back and managed to sold most of my creations as a part of a charity group exhibition of crafters. I am really sorry for the photos, they are not the best quality but i think the idea could inspire someone to make he/his own project.

5.jpg

You can take part at the contest here and win prizes in Steem and nTopaz tokens. Don't miss the chance if you are an active crafter.

Sort:  

Oh honey! this is cute, I love it! It's a great idea to recycle those discs.
Before there used to be many of those, but now with technology everything is different.
I'm glad you have not voted some of them, because not only do you make great collage works but you also make a nice piece for a beautiful decoration at home.
I love!!! I want it for my hehhe.
Dear, Luck in the contest


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you so much dear Carmen for your kind words and I am really happy that you liked them 😊 It is a beautiful project for decoration and a vet easy one to be made 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello honey, I always like your work, you are the best !!! ;)

I have to try and see if it really is easy. XD

Hello dear Carmen and thank you very much 😊 It is easy and creative, I am sure you would like it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a lot of discs you got there. Were these games, music, or movies?

Hahaha, yes. Mostly movies, but i am not sure. A friend came once with a box of old discs and from these i made the artwork.

Thank you georgeboya! You've just received an upvote of 39% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Thank you for the support Turtle:)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for the support:)

Καλησπέρα και καλή κυριακή, πραγματικά είναι καταπληκτικά και πολύ πρωτότυπα! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Σε ευχαριστω πολυ Νικο. Καλο βραδυ να εχεις:)

Interesting project, I wonder what was on the discs? I get a sort of 90's vibe from some of the artwork on these discs too.

Thank you very much, it is kind of retro indeed, lol. I think most of them have movies but I guess there is some music also😊

Posted using Partiko Android

This is really cool @georgeboya and the fondness of old cd and old media is very evocative as well :)

Thank you Donna, i am happy that you see it that way:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99