[CO]MAGNA MATER

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)


SH109631ps-2-crp.jpg
Magna Mater - detail with selfportrait

ntopaz-image-0
acrylic on canvas, mounted on masonite
22 x 39 inches - 56 x 99 cm
1978 - restored 1994

On my Website

Magna Mater is the Great Earth Mother.

One of the symbols shown in the painting is
"The Venus of Willendorf"
one of the earliest depictions of the feminine principle.




DETAILS

MagnaMaterMergePS-IN-PROGRESS-no-brd-org-sz-detail1.jpgVenus of Willendorf

MagnaMaterMergePS-IN-PROGRESS-no-brd-org-sz-detail4web.jpgAdam Rising

SH100093ORlogo 64px.jpg

This painting had been badly damaged around 1992. It had several jagged cuts right through the center. Eventually in 1994 I mounted the canvas on a masonite sheet and filled the torn parts with modelling paste, then painted over it. But the damage is quite noticeable. The painting is currently still in my house in Canada.

MagnaMaterMergePS-IN-PROGRESS-no-brd-org-sz-detail2.jpgArtist Selfportrait

MagnaMaterMergePS-IN-PROGRESS-no-brd-org-sz-detail3web.jpgMadonna and Child
and Eva's most beautiful dress

MagnaMaterMergePS-IN-PROGRESS-no-brd-org-sz-detail5web.jpgThe Rose



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg


untitled-crp2-400-web-steemit.jpg
portrait photo of me by Nick Morant, around 1977, the year before I painted Magna Mater

About - Introduction on Steemit

Sort:  

Your surreal style is so fascinating. I really enjoy your creative artwork.

[nTOPAZ-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.


Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you very much! I appreciate your comment!

I am sorry to hear that Magna Mater was badly damaged. It must be heartbreaking for you. I guess that this painting style was very popular at that time no? It's colorful, unrealistic, fun, exaggerating and simply beautiful. This is how I imagine that time to be - but I don't know for sure as I was born later :)

Thank you for sharing!

thanks - yes, it was, and still is. I had often thought about painting a newer version of it, but there are so many ideas on the back burner ..... besides, my style has changed slightly since then. I had been influenced by Rudolf Hausner (I met him personally at his estate in Mödling in 1980) , and it shows in paintings that were done around that time. The era of The Vienna School of Fantastic Realism is close to my heart. My essay I link to is so far the only comprehensive information in English on the internet, as far as I know. And I have no time to spend to correct the poorly written and threadbare article in the English Wikipedia.

[ nTOPAZ COORDINATOR ]

Hi @thermoplastic! We have been delighted with your design, all those details and the surrealist way of expressing it. It makes us smile, when we meet people as awesome as you on the platform, thank you very much for showing your work through nTOPAZ!


You want to learn more about nTOPAZ ?
Follow @ntopaz to be informed about new contests. Visit our website to discover the artworks from the community. Or just join our Discord server to chat with other users and get help from the team.

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines · Guide for CO, CR, and CU

Thank you - and I am on Discord.

I just can say wow @thermoplastic Simply Amazing !!


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you kindly - I am just now catching up with my messages here!

Hi Otto, beautiful painting, very complex and every single part of painting tells their story. I heard about The Venus of Willendorf when I was watching "Ancient Aliens" documentary, fascinating history. Thank you for that photo of young version of you, really nice.
Also wanted to mention Otto, #slothicorn is not existing anymore, use #ocd-resteem instead, so that your works will have more exposure, they deserve it :)

Thank you. Long time ago when I was young, I searched for the Venus of Willendorf at the Museum for Natural History in Vienna and at that time, she was hard to find, being just one object in a long and crowded glass vitrine. She is now displayed in a separate room in a glass case. There is only one other exhibit in that room: 39.000 year old "Fanny", which is the oldest known human form figurine. The Venus is close to 30.000 years old.
If you can read German (or via Google website translate) the Austria Forum article gives you a lot of info. The German Wikipedia is not bad, the English Wikipedia does not have as much information.

🎉 Congratulations @thermoplastic! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.

Hello honey, I'm glad you've competed!
This is a great piece, I love your imagination.
You have incredible details in it.

thank you Carmen,
If I did it today, it might look different. But I am never out of ideas.

Oh yes! Dear I know, I can appreciate amazing works of art in your blog!

hmmmm - well, I am out of nTopaz. I will neither be competing, or otherwise contributing to it anymore. The winners were ranging from below average to a joke to one of blatant copyright infringement.
A website by and for crass amateurs.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

great, thanks!

Really a good job!! I like it.
But I wonder how many lovers did you have in 1977? ;)
Artist + Good-Looking = Tons of chicks

Posted using Partiko Android

haha, you slay me. Sort of. I was popular. But that was the beginning of the end - I got married 3 times.......

auhauahau :) I'm sorry for that, I can understand you, but i hope you at least have had some very good times, that you'll never forget. Thats the important ;)
Thank you for sharing your art and to make me laugh!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01