You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Comedy of Errors ~ Depression

in #oldlife6 years ago

OMG...
Get outta my head!!!
This is eerily similar to a day in my life, except you need to add a scene with 110 pounds of me surrounded by cops, hands on guns. Feeling suicidal? They were ready to help!!
My punchline was a lot creepier too, being told to get back on the drugs that made me suicidal or I would never go home... So I got back on, was told upon discharge that if I ever stopped I would be ten times MORE likely to kill myself. I threw the prescription in the trash and have been trying to blow the whistle ever since. That black box warning on the antidepressants? That was not there yet... I helped get it there in my own little way. Nearly paid with my life for the effort.
HUGS!!

Sort:  

The world is so crazy!!! I wonder if that happens to women more than men... So sorry you had to go through that. And thank you for helping to get the warning on the meds...

Thank you, that was a very sweet thing to say! 😘
It is just a little scary how many times I tell my story and people just intellectually shut down on me, they would rather have a physical fight with me than allow me to speak ill of their beloved pill... They will not allow me to cite statistics and God forbid I mention "placebo effects."

That freaks me out too. Just the general ignorance and unwillingness to look outside of the little box they put themselves in.
Like that opiate crisis we are in. Most got to heroin and such through an addiction to prescription drugs. We know that there are better ways to deal with pain. Pot is one of them.
Even though it is legal in California, our little city doesn't want a dispensary here. Stupid!!! they are saying no to a lot of tax money they could use to make the city better and pay for youth programs.
But big pharma, liquor stores and such are at every corner. Stupid crazy!!!

We have a little drama unfolding... The big city nearest us is Ontario, OR. When OR legalized, each area that did not pass it was allowed to ban the sale in that county. Ontario had people with clinics and dispensaries rented and staffed, and the city said "Not here." Well, 30 miles down the road was a little ghost town, in another county. They let a dispensary in. The place made so much money for the little town they paid all the government expenses for the year by March. They regularly have lines around the block, even after they let a second one open. The little town is BOOMING. New restaurant just opened. People are selling their little shacks for big bucks. Meanwhile, Ontario is asking the residents to let them add sales tax... Oregon has no sales tax, but Ontario wants a city tax, because they can't meet their bills.
Front page of the Ontario paper this morning... Someone filed the paperwork to ask the voters if maybe they'd like to let the clinics and dispensaries open after all. So now that it will be pretty much "You want to pay the tax, or you want to let the marijuana users to pay the tax?" I think an epiphany may be in the making.

I think more people than we know have looked for help and had the same thing happen to them then anyone realizes. Yes, it's a nightmare beyond what anyone could ever imagine unless it has happened to you.

Thank YOU for doing and still doing what you can. People and Doctors don't realize that all meds do not affect all people the same........I could go on forever about that but......not today.....

HUGS

THANK YOU for sharing your story and I'm so happy you are here now to tell the tale. <3

I am happy to have you there to listen, and THRILLED that you chose to speak out. If enough people hold up their candle, more and more people will see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75