Dtube IPFS Server update: Over 100 connected Peers!

in #onelovedtube5 years ago (edited)

Its been a few weeks since I announced I was building an IPFS server to support the Dtube network. Its up and mostly running, though had to be rebuilt once already due to mistakenly installing Apache and was unable to get nginx to work at all in the first build. Thanks @gray00 @techcoderx and @vaultec for the help with guidance on building the first and then second attempt at running a IPFS server.

After rebuilding I can now get to my own uploader and use a Bot on discord to add videos I upload to d.tube to the community server for better redundancy. Running Go-IPFS I have over 100 connections and have pinned 19 videos, and seems to help my videos run smoother and for longer.

Though I am still having issues with the OneLoveDtubeUploader. seems larger videos over 300MB do not upload and I must use d.tube to still get my videos on the IPFS network. Once they are on there I can propagate them working with OneLoveDtube group and running bot commands.

I am told by the creator of the uploader its an nginx misconfiguration. But he has looked at my config and could not find anything wrong, so my next guess is my server does not have enough memory. A few minutes after the upload is complete and ffmpeg starts up, my memory goes from about 700MB used all the way up to 1.99GB and then I get the 502 error. As I only have a 2GB OpenVZ server, which has become inadequate it would seem.

This is when the video is processed and rendered after it being fully uploaded which is quite cpu and memory intensive. And due to my VPS's architecture a swap file is not supported. Due to this resource usage I think ffmpeg is using up all the memory and halting when no more is left. In this case I may need to move to another provider that has KVM VPS's that support swap files or just more RAM in general. Or need to find a way to limit ffmpegs RAM usage.

My next server may be a Kimsufi server, maybe a KS-3 which has twice the RAM my Time4VPS server has. And since its KVM I can use a swap file if need be.

Ive learned alot navigating Ubuntu and using a headless operating system. Setting up certificates, a web server using nginx and having a nodejs backend running a simple website really gave me some confidence to keep trying. I am glad I have been working with masternodes, IPFS servers using MongoDB and LBRY using MySQL servers as its been expanding my knowledge of Unix and making me more comfortable every day. Using tools like Putty and WinSCP are great tools I use to manage my servers and always finding new tools for better usage. Its only been a about a year working with these systems, so excited to see what the future brings.

When I get my uploader working and pinning set up I also want to get some visualizations of my server stats. Maybe some kind of server monitor tool so I can show its progress in usage. So lots planned but I may need to move providers before making any big changes.

Thanks to the OneLoveDtube Discord such as @d00k13 @deepsouthpiddlin @cityofstars @jrawsthorne and of course mentioned earlier @gray00 @techcoderx and @vaultec for your support, patience and hours of time helping me get situated with the server and some cases over and over again troubleshooting.

Happy to be part of the Community Node club.

Addresses below for donation:

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

PlatformURL/Username
Steemithttps://steemit.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://deals.weku.io/@solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer

HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

#infrastructure #servers #technology #steem #ipfs #decentralization

Sort:  

Great work and happy to be pinning some of your videos to my Andrew’s DTube Video Upload server.
I also couldn’t get the Uploader to work because of some problems with my AMD GPU drivers.

@apshamilton thanks alot for that. Whe n I pin I usually notice a great increase in quality. When I have my new server built I'll set it up for pinning of other users videos too.

Oh damm, gpu drivers on unix can be a nightmare. I broke my ubuntu gui once updating the video drivers, trying to set up miners on unix. Since then I stick to windows for POW mining.. luckily masternodes dont need gpu processing power so I use ubuntu for those.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you were able to get it up and running my friend! Happy to be able to support, that’s what we’re here for ❤️

We Will Get There Together
#OneLoveDTube

Posted using Partiko iOS

@d00k13

Feels really empowering having my own server on a network I use so much. And making friends like you and others in OneLoveDTube brings a warm feeling to my heart. Looking forward to the future together.

Yea buddy I still need to figure out how to get my node to backup all the pins from other nodes, not sure why but I cannot get a straight answer on how to do this!

Furthermore we need an automated script or something for collecting pins from other nodes specifically for onelove, I have to run a command daily to pin our hosted files to my node.... so many aspects I still don’t understand 🤦‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

@d00k13 the only way I know how is to do !addvideo and !ipfs on the community backup channel. That seems to pin it to other servers. Though I'm not sure what the difference between the two are. I'm confused as well the difference from the go-ipfs implementation that @gray00 is working on versus the permanate implementation that @vaultec built.

Even weirder is when I did successfully upload a short video through my servers uploader the videos could not be seen by other dtube servers giving a not found error when I pin. But if I upload using d.tube I can successfully pin to other servers.

Yeah some sync script seems to be the way to go but I dont even know where to start on such a task.

Regardless I still feel like running a server and having connections working should help with the resilience of the network.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea it is a little confusing having the two separate. My understanding of the difference is function in scalability. Go is the standard model with users choosing what to pin where permamente works out clusters of nodes to host file groups. Essentially I am running only as a backup node for one love paid subscriptions.

The whole pinning thing still baffles me completely 😆 here is hoping a simple solution can be had, such as just having the Uploader push the pins to the entire network.

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you very much for joining us brother!
to help the community!

@cityofstars glad I had an opportunity to set up a server and work with everyone at onelovedtube

Posted using Partiko Android

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to solominer! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Really great update! And I appreciate the mention so much! I get it though for sure, it does feel empowering and the fact that I’m surrounded by all of the other guys I learn things constantly. I agree the support is wonderful with the #onelovedtube community ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

@deepsouthpiddlin really happy there is such a group open to helping and working on expanding all the time. Yeah I've learned alot too to being around them, and thankful for everything they have shown and told me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.020 which ranks you at #10697 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #99.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10