Steemit Open Mic week 59 - Somwhere only we know, Lily AllensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I have been sick with a terrible sinus infection and it hasn't allowed me to have my signing voice:( I'm FINALLY better wahoo. This has been one of my favorite songs lately, so thought I'd use it as my openmic entry.

I'd love to take suggestions if you guys have any idea what I should cover next! Comment a song below and i'll look into it for sure. Thanks for all the love ans support guys!! It means so much. Also I am totally obssesed with this flannel and might where it everyday..... (don't worry I do wash it lol). Now enjoy this picture of me hiding in the shady woods, and I really hope you guys enjoy the video! Love ya.

_RPV0803-1 addie skin edit copy 2.jpg

I walked across an empty land
I knew the pathway like the back of my hand
I felt the earth beneath my feet
Sat by the river and it made me complete

Oh simple thing where have you gone?
I'm getting old and I need something to rely on
So tell me when you're gonna let me in
I'm getting tired and I need somewhere to begin

I came across a fallen tree
I felt the branches of it looking at me
Is this the place we used to love?
Is this the place that I've been dreaming of?

Oh simple thing where have you gone?
I'm getting old and I need something to rely on
So tell me when you're gonna let me in
I'm getting tired and I need somewhere to begin

And if you have a minute why don't we go
Talk about it somewhere only we know?
This could be the end of everything
So why don't we go
Somewhere only we know?
Somewhere only we know?

Oh simple thing where have you gone?
I'm getting old and I need something to rely on
So tell me when you're gonna let me in
I'm getting tired and I need somewhere to begin

And if you have a minute why don't we go
Talk about it somewhere only we know?
This could be the end of everything
So why don't we go?
So why don't we go?

Sort:  

"Somewhere Only We Know" is a song performed and composed by English alternative rock band Keane, officially released as their third commercial single, and appearing as the opening track of their debut studio album, Hopes and Fears (2004) as the first single.

In 2013, the song was covered by Lily Allen for a John Lewis Christmas advert. Her version surpassed the success of the original in the UK, topping the UK Singles Chart and selling over 600,000 copies.

Your version is beautiful and your voice really shines on this song.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Wow I honestly had no idea!! That is amazing how well the song did when she released a cover. She has such an outstanding voice and I love her version of the song. Thanks for dropping some awesome knowledge on me:) I love hearing the stories of a song!

Simply beautiful, Addie! What next? Cover whatever your heart desires... including anything original you might have to share... Loved this!

Thank you, thank you, thank you:) I’m thinking about covering a Beatles song next! Or i do have some original music I’d love to share:) Thanks again for the support!

Yes! Beatles! Yes!

Sorry, got excited when I saw the "B" word while listening to you sing. Definitely post your original music. Beautiful job on this one!

Another sweet sounding entry glad to hear and read that you have recovered. I love original music more than anything. No disrespect to the Beatles and their classic hits but like I tell all original artists, no one will perform or cover your songs so you have to perform your originals because the world is waiting to hear them.

Congratulations @addiesworld, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2090 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1781.09. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I had no idea Lilly Allen did a cover of this song <3
So cool!! and your cover is amazing too!! i love it!! i am so googling her version too! ... This is one of my favorite songs ever!!

I am so glad i found this! you made me happy girl!! you have an amazing voice!! i am so following you! ...

ps : i have an entry for this week too, in case you want to check it out ( you don't have to. That is not why i posted a comment.. i did because i really liked your video... i am just saying lol)

Have an awesome evening! <3

Thank you so much for clarifying who wrote the original song:) I honestly wasn't sure who was the original writer, but I tried to cover the version that Lily Allen did. She does such an amazing job of it! Thanks aging, you're the best:)

YESSS Luzcy!! You really know what’s up, uh?! Keane was one of my favorite bands growing up! I still listen to them a lot.

Hey thank you so much:) I will follow along with your page as well! I'll definitively go check out your entry! Yea her version of the song is my ultimate FAVORITE. Her voice is so unique unlike any other!

Yeah! It is a mindblowing cover ( hers and yours!) i Love Lilly Allen So much!! Great voice but i love her even more as a songs writer.

Very hard for me yo pick a favorite song from her , lol.

what a lovely voice mam, keep away from dusty place so we can see you here every week please hehehe.. hhmmm how about K kissed a girl by Katy Perry for next week mam.. hehehe

Haha I will try to stay healthy so I’ll have my singing voice every week;) I do love me some Katy Perry! Thanks for following a long with my page:)

For sure you have a great voice @addiesworld

Wow, this one touched me. Very good performance.

Very nice performance I love your pitch and also great voice. Thanks to shared your talent and Congratulation @addiesworld for top 1 on openmic week #59

Aww thank you!! Your support means the world:)

Beautiful voice <3 I checked out your profile and definitely will enjoy following you.

Recently, I announced a contest called FOLK IT! I will love to have you as a participant. Here it is :) Where are you from by the way?

Hey thank you so much! I am from Utah. I recently went on a trip to Africa and got really sick. So I've been offline for a while, but am ready to get back on!

Hey, sorry to hear about your situation. The contest ended recently. Nevermind, keep on doing what you love <3

such a beautiful job my friend just lovely im such a fan of you

Wow thank you so much:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10