Open Mic Week 42 'Angeles' Elliott Smith Cover (Bathroom Sessions)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I first heard this song on the film Good Will Hunting years ago, along with several other Elliott Smith songs on the soundtrack, but this one stood out to me so much.. To me this song speaks about the monster that is money, and the way the city swallows up and exploits people with the use of money. That's what it means to me but take a listen for yourself, if you haven't heard it before I suggest you check out the original, it's an amazing piece of music, and I couldn't even dream of doing it justice.

But I did try!..

If you have time please upvote my entry on the open mic page, scroll to the comments and you'll see me - thanks!

Sort:  

Hello. You have been nominated by @playfulfoodie :)
Please wait a bit more for the results, here is the summary of the artists and nominators of the very first @artcurator project.

Nominee.jpg

Nice music man!

Another one of the Bathroom sessions I see, I'm not familiar with that song but dang that's some flawless fingerpicking as far as I can tell. Also a great vocal. You never cease to amaze!

Thanks my friend, Damn I still need to check out your entry..!

Fabulous man! Not familiar with the original at all, but then hey ho, who needs to be, with someone covering it as well as you obviously are. 👏👏👏😊

Thanks Geoff, I appreciate the kind words! The way Elliott Smith played it was really something though.. You should give it a listen. ;)

Well played mate! I love his music.

Thanks Andy, I thought you might!

Awesome rendition friend... Justice served and then some!

Haha thank you..!

Great right hand chops, superb vocals, and oh the soothing sound of the bathroom! Glad you made it back for some more bathroom sessions.

Thank you, haha yeah some songs are definitely more suited to the bathroom!

Bathroom or not you sound great...keep em coming

You did it great bro .I like Elliott Smith. First time I heard his song on The Girl Next Door's movie.

Really is it on that film too? I never noticed it when I watched it and I think that was way after watching Good Will Hunting.. Thanks for the info!

sorry I meant I heard one of his songs on The Girl Next Door , that high school movie.

Ohh ok, yeah I know the film, do you know which song it is?

hey sorry , my notification doesn't working , it's called Elliott Smith - Angeles , and also I think this song is amazing : elliott smith between the bars

David, the song I'm singing here is called Angeles!.... Yeah between the bars is really good.

Yea bro I know it but I forgot which song was on that movie , then I found that after days LOL , you did it like a pro man , I heard it , you played all the arps and melodies great , but it's like Jerry Cantrell sing this song , your face and your voice reminds me of him. \m/ rock on !

sing this song if you like :
Nutshell :

Thanks for playing. That was sweet.

Thank you. =)

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56