You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Mic week 89: How Great Thou Art

in #openmic6 years ago

Happy birthday to your grandmother. I bet she'd be honoured that you dedicated this video to her :)

It's a cute hymn for sure and your voice really brings out the message. Well done.

Sort:  

Thank you! I think she would. 🙂 Grandma passed away three years ago. I miss her; she was the primary influence with my music.

I'm sorry to hear about your loss. Grandma's are awesome!

Did she only sing or play some instruments too?

She didn’t sing much, if at all (my mom and I were the ones who ended up with the voice genes), but she played piano and fiddle. She LOVED music, taught me a lot early in the beginning and supported my passion for it as I grew. She came to every single one of my school and personal concerts, until her health and the driving distance got to be too much for her. She was one of the few people who really understood me. I valued her so much.

Grandparents generally see themselves in their grandkids, the love that they have for them is something out of this world but not everyone is blessed to experience that. It is so amazing to hear that she was there through each one of your concerts. It is really great and to have such a connection and support with a person, may it be a friend, a family member or a stranger. We would've loved to see a video of the two of you jamming! I'm sure she was a remarkable woman. Your gratitude towards her lives through your work, keep it up.

Thank you for your kind words. 🙂

You're very welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77