Steemit Open Mic 130 - My Name is London Town (Reg Meuross cover ) @Jubei333

in #openmic5 years ago

Greetings Steemit Open Mic Brothers and Sisters.

This is my entry for this weeks open mic.These last few days I have been learning a song called My Name is London Town by an English folk musician named Reg Meuross.

I found Reg's music through the GemsonVHS youtube channel a few weeks ago and was very impressed by the style of his songwriting.

He writes in the style of old folk musicians like Woody Guthrie.The songs tell the stories of places and people and paint vivid images in the mind.

The song is still very fresh and new to me but I feel I got a decent version recorded for this weeks contest.

Here is the link to the original video of Reg playing the song in the Cecil Sharp Museum in London...

My Name is London Town
By Reg Meuross

I've been struck by the wind coming in from the east
that strips the grey river and stretches your skin

I've been choked by the engine and chocked by the beast
Breathing fire and pollution ,pleasure and sin

I'm the cry of the gulls from St Katherines Dock
Im the cry of the Smithfields fishmonger at dawn

I'm the sharp suited broker who steals like a fox
to the stock exchange floor to sell coffee and corn

My name is London town ,I'm your vision going up
I'm your nightmare coming down

I'm the Westminster fool , I'm the Pentonville clown
My name is London Town

I'm the bundle of rags in the Oxford Street doorway
Matted and ratted and shivering with cold

I'm the homecoming sunset that lights up the westway
Im the union flag ,Im the red green and gold

I'm the dome of St Paul's and the Regents Park Mosque
I'm the temple of the Arsenal and White Heart Lane

Im the bomb at Victoria the fire at Kings Cross
Im the 9 o clock dole que and the ten clock train

My name is London town ,I'm your vision going up
I'm your nightmare coming down

I'm the Westminster fool , I'm the Pentonville Clown
My name is London Town

I'm the immigrant town ,I'm the the city of night
of carousel dreams of beauty and pain

My streets paved with gold from the bold highway meters
Dick Whittingtons ghost in an old turning lane

My name is London town ,I'm your vision going up
I'm your nightmare coming down

I'm the Whitechapel murderer making his rounds

My name is London Town
My name is London Town

Sort:  

Congratulations @jubei333! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi jubei333,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Excelente trabajo amigo, éxito!!!

Gracias amigo!

Hello @jubei333, nice to see you again :) I've watched your other performance for openmic 127 and here we are again, you have another song highly appreciated by curie :)
I love openmic because it's an excellent opportunity for many artists to get noticed.
Back to your performance. I've listened to three or four music performances today but yours is a different genre that you don't find many of it here.
Thank you for uploading both versions of the song, yours and the original played by Reg Meuross. I've listened to both of them and I can say you gave the song a whole new style that I like. It's different and unique. The song has strange lyrics but that's why is unique.
You're doing a great job, please continue and see you again soon :)

Thanks for the kind and encouraging words Erikah and thank you for watching my video :).

My pleasure and keep posting.
We need active artists for those of us who can't play any instrument or sing 🙂

Brilliant man, very well done

Cheers bro,yeah Im surprized how fast I learned this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61