Open Mic Week 97 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago

We are closing another amazing week at the #openmic my friends. This is going to be one of those rare weeks I post this on a Sunday. Lately I've been not scheduling listening sessions early enough, thus it resulted in monday morning posts. But, not today my friends, not today.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@lisamalletart - Sensacao Boa (original song)

I think by now everyone knows that I'm a sucker for original songs. They are my weakness, they are the gems that I dig for every single week. When I find something like this, a song that has me singing only after listening for the first time, I know I just found another one.

This is a hit, straight out, I'm so serious, this song here needs to be on a radio in Brazil yesterday! Dejavan move over.

Second Place.-

@mayneth - Corazon Hambriento(original)

Honestly I got goosebumps more than once listening to this. The level of emotions that both performers poured on this track is undeniable. The guitarwork was absolutely stunning too. I'm going to take the liberty to tag @pechichemena on here because he needs to checkout the runs and the arrangement.

Bravo, absolutely beautiful!.

Third Place.-

@michaeldietrich - Hallelujah(cover)

You know, this son has been covered a bunch of times. But, Michael killed it, killed it dead. I'm of the idea that if you are going to cover something, you must shine through it, your sound, your soul. I don't want to hear it exactly like the recording, I wanna hear you.

Michael here is holding back the Rocker, he's like... "I'm not rocking out right now, because I can be chill too.. but you can tell I can" through the whole performance.

Fourth Place.-

@paintingangels - Swim(original song)

Serena, Serena... You have this beautiful way of braking my composure. I just love these little tunes so much. They speak to my soul, they talk to an old version of me, one that at times I think I forgot. The lyrics are just precious and your quirky attitude at the beginning just made me smile so much.

What's not to love?

Fifth Place.-

@cabelindsay - Grace us with your embrace

This was so heartfelt I could not help to dive myself into your home for a second Cabel. I mean, I know you guys are loving caring human beings, I know that very well, and this little song just reminded me of the warmth, the blessed home both of you have.

Thank you for sharing...

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@mariajruizb - NAME OF SONG


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #97, and I'm done on a Sunday!! WOOT WOOT!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

• A story about a Fisherman
• If you had an opportunity to talk to an investor about STEEM, would you?
• if only I had some monies...
• Bitcoin Dominance is Cray Cray
• So what? I'm not willing to sell anyways...

Sort:  

YO, I love the music community found here on Steemit. I also have much RESPECT to you @meno for helping that community grow by engaging it and stimulating it with these contests and shows you take part in.
~RESPECT~ flag this comment

Oh, Meno. My heart is swimming in gratefulness just to know you. Thank you so much for including me up there and I hope so much that someday I can repay you for all the kindness you've shown me this year. It is noted and embraced.
Much love and big hugs,
♥♥♥ - Serena

Thank you, @meno, for the mention and the nice comment at the end of your post. Cool. Greetings!

Thank you very much @meno! I feel honored! Much love!

Great selection... my Favorite is our Angel Serena ;)

silver top 5.jpg

ohhh thank you meno :)))) have a great day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97