Steemit Open Mic Week 71 - Original song - True Love by L.A.W

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


This is our first submission to the open mic. I am Sam, this is Jordan @thisisjordan.

I wrote the song when Jordan and I first met, so thought it was a good opportunity to share it with you. 


Shout out to these guys for putting this all together.

@passion-ground @krystle @pfunk @luzcypher
@coruscate


 (also - this is Jordan's first time playing bass!! EVER!) 

Hope you enjoy it.


TRUE LOVE


True Love

Comes from above

I didn’t want to freak you out too soon

Cause I really like you


Woke up wanting to talk to you

Didn’t want to freak you out too soon

I wondered if you woke up and thought that too

Didn’t want to freak it out too soon


When was it that you knew 

Was it at the bus stop

Or when I walked into the post box

Whilst trying to kiss you


True Love

Comes from above

I didn’t want to freak you out too soon

Cause I really like you


Spoke to you in the afternoon

Wondered if you’ve changed your tune

Remember where we were when we heard that tune

That goes do do do do 


When was it that you knew 

Was it at the bus stop

Or when I walked into the post box

Whilst trying to kiss you


True Love

Comes from above

I didn’t want to freak you out too soon

Cause I really like you



 

Sort:  

Got an XX feel about with some Pete Docherty looks and Debbie Harry, sounds good for a bit of shoe gazing, nice one. Enjoyed it. I feel like I could slow dance to it in a bar.

I used to get told I look like Pete Doherty a lot! Used to drive me mad at the time. Blondie FTW though!

Thank you for your feedback! Yay! Debbie Harry is one of my idols! Cheers 😊

Tis all good, you make a good pair. Looking forward to your next one. Don't forget to add your songs to the #digitalbusking tag. I'm trying to build it up!

I like the lighthearted way in which you deliver the message in this song. Nice.

I apprecaite that, keeping it chilled out for you x

We need more "chilled out" my friend. Thanks.

Thank you for the support! 😊

Hello @samcook & @thisisjordan,
I'm one of the 5 official open mic judges, please don't forget to mention @soundlegion also in your post, she is a talented artist as well as her judging skills. :) You both did a really great job, the singing was silky smooth and so catchy. Much respect for original music, that is what I am all about.
I have mentioned you in my top judging list for week 71, please be sure to read the full review of everyone here.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-71-original-blog

Great thank you! 😊 I’ll check it out. Thanks for the support x

You are most welcome, you guys did great

really enjoyed this guys! great song and the two of you together singing sounds really good. really cool feel on it loved

Thank you! Appreciate it 😊 I’ll check out your page x

Congratulations @samcook! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful song, performed very endearingly :) Huge like, you guys!

Thanks @deeptechhouse - the first friend I made on steemit! Your support helped make this @openmic entry happen. catch you soon buddy

Thank you so much! Really appreciate it 😊

Love it, sending love from Mexico

Thank you! 😊 We will be uploading more songs & videos very soon!

THANKS shahab!

Thank you 😊

So spacey. Your harmonies work together and you have a very charming partnership :))

Thanks a million

Thank you for your kind words 😊

wonderful ethereal vibe to the super reverb drenched vocals, this whole song had a dreamy feel to it. Great performance!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Hey thanks for your kind words.

You are more than welcome to use any quote or images you like.

I've just added you on Discord so willl send you a brief bio on there.

thanks for the support Carl x

Hi Sam, I realized when I was putting together the showcase post last night that I failed to follow up with you on Discord - sorry about that! I plugged both you and @thisisjordan's blogs in the showcase and gave my own review of your song, hope you like what I came up with:
https://steemit.com/curation/@curie/curie-author-showcase-february-8th-2018

Thank you for your support and your kind words! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61