Steemit Open Mic Week 74: 'Bandit' (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This sweet lil' songlette was written for my then 22 year-old lover. Our romance felt a bit scandalous at first as I was 35 at the time. Regardless, we sincerely adored one another.

So it goes – when a connection transcends body...age matters less than quality of spirit.

His was a brilliant, beautiful soul. I really was quite defenseless against his charms.


'Bandit'

you break into my heart, like a bandit crackin' codes
you're blowin' all my walls apart, and findin' all of my gold
you're plannin' your maraud of all the treasure I keep
you're opening the vault like a seasoned heart thief
...a seasoned heart thief

you climb into my soul, and – like a pirate – you make it your own
I'll surrender all that I hold if you sail me home
if you steer me clear of the rocks, and set your anchor deep
if you can handle these waves, you can be the captain of me
...you can be the captain of me

you come into my thoughts, like an outlaw callin' the shots
we're breakin' all the rules – I'm not supposed to love you
so we're takin' all the loot, and casting off for safer seas
my sweet, bandit love – you've made a rebel outta me

my sweet, bandit love – you've made a rebel outta me


bandit-sketch.png

~ written, performed, filmed, edited & illustrated by yours truly ~


Heartfelt thanks to @luzcypher, @krystle, @meno, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @verbal-d & @pfunk for all you do to make this happen each week. This community is changing my life in ways I don't yet have words for. I'll be forever grateful. Big love, xo • Zippy

Sort:  

The song is amazing..I could't get to watch the video properly

Thank you! Youtube mangled the video. Should be fixed now! ;)

You have an amazing voice @zipporah!
In love age usually doesn't matter too much, my wife is almost 3 years older, which isn't really something crazy, yet sometimes you hear people making stupid comments about it... Given you felt like a rebel back tjen, you certainly know what I mean. Anyhow great entry and I wish you the very best! 💞

Thanks so much @slacktmusic! I only felt like a rebel for the first few weeks. After that, it was really other people that seemed to take issue with it. Including his mother. Apparently, me being childless and 35 made everyone worry about the kids I must want to have – as though I might somehow entrap him with fatherhood. How wrong they were! Just wasn't meant to be a mama this lifetime.

Any song that starts with "you break into my heart, like a bandit crackin' codes" simply HAS to be good! I like your lyrics, and the way you compare him to a bandit, a pirate, and an outlaw in the successive verses!

Sadly, the song would not play, but only gives an error when the video is clicked:

Playback.jpg

Thanks @TheKittyGirl! 💜 I’m not sure what’s up with the video. I originally uploaded it to YouTube, and something went wrong there. So I reuploaded to Vimeo and it seemed to have fixed it. I just checked and it’s playing fine on my end. Are you viewing from a cached version, perhaps? Maybe it’s trying to access the original YouTube version? Ghosts in the system?

video as distressed. but the song is extraordinary :)
what a sweet and soft voice! Thank you.
good for our ears.

Glad you like it! Not sure what happened to the vid – YouTube apparently didn't like it. Re-uploaded to Vimeo so it should be working now. ;) Thanks for the heads up! <3

Here's to you, Mrs. Zippy! :-) Beautiful song and performance! Coo-Coo-Ca-Choo! xxx

Thank you, dear @passion-ground! Figured it was time for a bit of levity to balance out the melancholy. ;)

Love the lyrics hey. Feel em.

Thanks @enginewitty! Of all the songs I've written, these lyrics are my favorite.

is
just
lovely.

thankful to have been on PYPT when you shared with us.

Glad you like it @jacobts. <3 Thanks for listening.

Wow, what a voice!!! You're really good. :D

Thank you, kindly @bristowboy! <3 Appreciate you thinking so.

I think this song is really great, love the lyrics. 💙
You could check my own entry too.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@rho-sama/steemit-open-mic-week-74-an-original-song-supernova-by-rho-sama-simplykaso

Yes! You gals are amazing! I left you a comment on your post. ;) Bravo!

Hmmm as usual maam amaze balls

@etemi!! You haven't come to find me on Discord! Get your butt over there, girrrl!

Here's a good place to look for me (and an appropriate server to invite you, too – badass Steemit lady!)

Lool. Okay let me just do that now maam..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54