Why Does Something Have "Value" to Anyone?

in #originality5 years ago

Being part of this community where we seem to be eternally engaged in discussions about such things as "rewards" and "upvotes" and what "adds value" to the ecosystem, I have become increasingly tuned into the entire concept of value, on a broader scale.

What is it that adds "value" to our Steemit experience, to our overall web experience, even to our lives, in general?

0204Grass4.jpg
Grassy stalks in the sun

Value... and Giving a Damn

The more I look at value — both from my personal perspective, as well as in the world — the more I come to the conclusion that creating and providing "value" is something that arises from giving a damn.

Conversely, as I find myself looking at web content or other "stuff of life" that seems worthless to me, it also seems like those things were created/offered by people (or organizations) with pretty much zero interest or investment in what they were doing.

In our little microcosm of Steemit, I find myself rewarding content that suggests that its creator cared about what they were doing. It might not be "War and Peace" or a Pulitzer worthy article, but there's a level of caring there.

And, somehow, that ends up being a part of what gives something value.

Value can be a very diverse thing. There might be value in instructions on how to assemble a swing set... but you can typically tell whether the person who put together the instructions actually wanted that to be a reasonably easy and intuitive experience for you... or they just "went through the motions" and created something out of a sense of obligation.

0362Mint.jpg
Our mint... in bloom

Value... and Originality

Originality — even as it relates to subject matter that might have been covered many times before — also adds value.

Do you prefer to read a camera review that just re-hashes exactly what has already been said in 20 magazines, or would you rather read a review created from scratch, based on an individual user's actual experience?

Which, of course, leads us right back to the issue of someone giving a damn enough to create something worthwhile, rather than merely regurgitating someone else's words, or taking other shortcuts. Or outright copying another person's work.

Originality matters to me because it says that someone cared enough to want others to have positive experience.

How about YOU? What do you think "value" is? What are the characteristics of "adding value," for you? Is "value" important to you? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

xSteemitBloggers.jpg

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190105 23:31 PST

Sort:  

I enjoy reading a post where it feels like I am being talked to instead of at . I would like to see who you are and how you feel about the subject

That's one of the things I have always liked about the blogging format (vs. writing "articles") — it's just less formal and lends itself much better to "conversations" between the original poster and readers.

I agree - I enjoy reading posts that are interesting as well as being informative - and also like posts that tell of their failures as there is always something to learn from the mistakes of others.

Well it certainly makes it more likely that I'll reward something where people care.

Although I find myself increasingly likely to reward people working on projects rather than content.

Also some of the dataanalyst posts on here... they can take hours or even days to put together. So i give some of those large votes.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

In my opinion when you have a goal and to reach that goal you need to use something, let’s say an object it becomes of value. Because that object is the key between trying to help you achieve your goal, wishes or desires

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess for me, I tend to follow and comment on a lot of similar people but mainly artists. Yet anyone, like you, who takes the time to write about contemplation of life and such always draws me in and gets my very small vote, but happily given none the less.

As an artist I get a lot from other artists who post their work, even when it is simply their finished piece without much text because I know, as an artist, how much went into that work . And I enjoy 'reading my own story' in their work anyway, that is just something I have always done, so there you go they get my small vote.

I also love gardening and landscapes so when I find the time to read homesteading posts they usually get my vote too, as I am always interesting in gardening and homesteading as well. I don't know that I personally would seek out 'review' posts, but I just sort of let my love of browsing pique my interest and follow my heart with my vote. :)

Originality plays a big role in creating "Value".

I think "Value" itself is subjective and plainly said is something that provides a certain amount of enrichment in someone's life. Whether that be something like entertainment or something educational.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76