You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ditches Can Be Beautiful Too

in #outdoors6 years ago

Wow a dirch with a crossing built in! I have heard of these, where they bridge most of the way across; so you can jump across, but I never saw one. It does make sense, thanks for the picture! :)

Sort:  

You’re welcome! Glad you enjoyed. And I’m not really sure how that little “bridge” got there lol.

From what I read, they are deliberately placed; to use as a pass over, because they are cheaper than a bridge. The one I read about had a culvert on the solid side for water flow. Also stock is less likely to cross than if it were a full bridge.

Interesting that something so simple, can be so complex. :)

Ohh, haha it took me a bit to figure out what you were referring to! Yes I’m standing on our driveway which has a culvert in it. At first I thought you were talking about that little green grass patch in the middle of the pic. (Lol not sure why I thought that..) We do have some ditches around here that have a concrete bridge, but those are less common.

Yes, the little green piece was put there deliberately, to allow you to cross, without having to walk around. It probably has a culvert against the left bank. They used to use them to cross over, by jumping, while blocking the livestock. There is a lot going on in that little piece of dirt! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92