You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Never Shut Up About Kayaking!

in #paddling6 years ago

I have never had use of a kayak but for two summers I had a 12' aluminium canoe. I was the only one with my own canoe, once I convinced the leaders that I could be trusted not to kill myself.

The reason I had my own canoe was complex. Ish. I was feak and weeble, which meant I could not carry a 50 lb supply pack. I also could not be trusted not to fall down under one end of a 16' fibreglass canoe. I could carry the 12 footer.

The policy was 3 boys per 16' canoe, each carrying part of the load on portages. One front, one back, one pack. Nobody wanted to drag a canoe over a fallen Catweasel. Nor did anyone want to pick up a 50 lb pack with a Catweasel attached.

The 12' canoe was the answer.

I've never had the opportunity to canoe since, but I understand your passion.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the picture! LOL!!! You were smart not fast?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91