You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Latest Painting (“Kettle & Petals”) and Its Development.

in #painting5 years ago

That is really nice, love the way you made your process steps. I heard many times that some artists prime their canvases again but I used without additional and quite happy. What difference you notice when you prime it again. I like the way you showed your steps. I did in the past oil painting but I am a hobby Artist and Oil painting is soemthing that I am a bit anxious about. I love it but I am afraid of spoiling my canvas as canvas is something expensive, not like paper that you can dispose and use another one. Beautiful work adn appreciate for your pictures in between the stages :)

Sort:  

@stef1 Thank you! ^__^ Oh I didn't prime it "again". You can just use an ordinary panel, birch or masonite for example, and then I added 2 quick thin coats of amber colored shellac.

I like using shellac because not only does it dry really fast but it also cuts down on the oil paints tendency to sink in.

I would also encourage you to work on letting go with the idea that oil painting is so delicate and easy to ruin. In fact, when working on an oil painting, it is actually pretty hard to ruin it beyond the point of saving it. There are quite a few things you can do to repair them. Oil paint is very forgiving :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71