My Latest Painting (“Kettle & Petals”) and Its Development.

in #painting5 years ago

My Latest Painting (“Kettle & Petals”) and Its Development.



Kettle & Petals
16” x 20”
Oil on canvas
2018


Greetings fellow Steemians,

In this post I wanted to share my latest still life painting and how it developed.

But before I begin I’d also like to point out that this latest still life of mine is the last painting of 2018 and the first painting to be varnished in 2019!

Here below is a shot of the canvas panel pretoned with shellac and my limited earthen palette ready to go.

Lately I’ve been really enjoying using shellac as a painting ground as compared to the usual acrylic gesso.

Besides for it behaving as an “imprimatura” (toned transparent surface) and I can essentially skip a step, but it also is a non absorbent surface which cuts down a lot of the oil paints sinking in issues which has been a tremendous relief.


In the beginning I kept things relatively thin, first of course with a loose drawing in thinned burnt umber and then immediately massed in the largest and darkest shapes following the white cloth. While still keeping everything “open” I kept in mind to add a little drying medium into the mix so that I’ll be able to paint over the first pass the next day.


The following day I then decided to zero in on the predominant subject matter, the kettle. While attempting to nail the value as accurately as possible, I was also focusing on form transitions and edgework, keeping things relatively soft until I have enough information to make the executive decision in making certain edges sharp to guide the viewer’s attention.


As I continued to connect the previously painted forms with the currently painted forms, I then decided to work on the subtleties of the drapery.

I really do enjoy painting white cloth. It is very intriguing in that the more you observe the nuances, the more you find the different shifts in value and temperature in “white” objects.


Here I am continuing to move along with the drapery. At the time I was also focusing on defining more of a raised perspective, as indicated with the edge of the table and cloth hanging off the end. Usually I tend to keep the ground plane relatively eye level.


After I met the left edge of the cloth, I went back where it was needed to readjust the transitions of the folds of the cloth.


Now in strategic sections, I then oiled out the bottom right section of the wood and foreground with a little painting medium and then started to refine edges and painted in some wood grain up to the edges of the drapery. I then repeated the process on the section on the left. I made sure to keep those dark foreground shadows very warm.


Now by this time the kettle had ample amount of time to dry, so then in a final pass I added the necessary lights, made some tiny adjustments, and eventually added the rose petals..

..Aaaand it’s finished!!


Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Click here to subscribe to my artist’s newsletter

Ebay

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Nicely done, @jameszenartist :) I really like how you've used such a restrained colour palette for this... it makes the soft pink of the petals so wonderful and even more delicate.

Gorgeous.

Congrats for curie, too <3

@veryspider Thank you! :) This painting was especially fun to work on. And less is definitely always more ;)

to keep it simple it is the diffult part but when you achieve everyone can understand art, I appreciate you art piece very much I can see only few subject but you feel there is much more behind, your immagination starts to go on, thanks for sharing

@road2horizon Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked it :)

If you're interested in seeing more of my work and want to be updated when new paintings are uploaded on my website, you can sign up for my newsletter here:

https://jameshansenpaintings.com/email-newsletter

In addition I am also offering for a limited time specially discounted prices on all of my work on my Ebay store which can be found HERE

What a lovely painting @jameszenartist. It look exactly like real kettle. You are so detailed in the painting. Seldom can find this type of kettle. Normally people use it to make tea. The white cloth with few petals really a perfectly match. I love the soft color combination of it to reflect the kettle. It must took you sometime to finish it.

@oliviackl Thank you so much :) Come to think of it yeah I would say it took me about a month to complete.

A month with such beautiful painting, it really worth it. You plan to frame it? It sure very beautiful as a wall painting.

Thank you, yeah I would say that's about an average time span for a painting of this size. And yes as a matter of fact all of my work is made with the intention of being framed and sold :)

If you'd like to be notified as to when new work is out and readily available, you can subscribe to my newsletter here:

https://jameshansenpaintings.com/email-newsletter

Opps, I talking to a professional artist.. Yay... first time I managed talk to a professional artist. Now I knew why your art so beautiful :p... Subscribed the newsletter hehehe..

Edited: The subscribe side seems have some issue, cannot subscribe successfully.

@oliviackl Thank you so much ^_^ ..I suppose when you dedicate your whole life to something, you're bound to eventually be good at it right? ;)

And thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for the technical issues; this is the first time I've ever heard of this. I am looking into it as we speak. So far, I have found that people that use the internet explorer browser sometimes experiences issues. Every other browser works fine.

In the meantime, if you like you could send me your contact info/email and I could add you manually?

-James
[email protected]

Oh yes please.. Please add [email protected]. Thank you!! I used firefox to register, seems it doesn't work as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

@oliviackl You're quite welcome! :) And I thank you for your patience as well. I'm not sure why its acting buggy, but according to my research I guess there has been plenty of others who have been experiencing similar issues.

So I put you in and it looks like a success! And to give you a heads up, I can assure you that there will be a new newsletter coming very very soon ;)

That is really nice, love the way you made your process steps. I heard many times that some artists prime their canvases again but I used without additional and quite happy. What difference you notice when you prime it again. I like the way you showed your steps. I did in the past oil painting but I am a hobby Artist and Oil painting is soemthing that I am a bit anxious about. I love it but I am afraid of spoiling my canvas as canvas is something expensive, not like paper that you can dispose and use another one. Beautiful work adn appreciate for your pictures in between the stages :)

@stef1 Thank you! ^__^ Oh I didn't prime it "again". You can just use an ordinary panel, birch or masonite for example, and then I added 2 quick thin coats of amber colored shellac.

I like using shellac because not only does it dry really fast but it also cuts down on the oil paints tendency to sink in.

I would also encourage you to work on letting go with the idea that oil painting is so delicate and easy to ruin. In fact, when working on an oil painting, it is actually pretty hard to ruin it beyond the point of saving it. There are quite a few things you can do to repair them. Oil paint is very forgiving :)

I can see that you enjoy painting the white cloth as it looks like you put a lot of effort and love into it. The shadows that you created are spot on. I like the entire composition but I find the kettle a little too dark. It could be just the photo though :) The rose petals caught my eyes as you have such a few colors in there and they are the highlight of the canvas.

Great painting!

Thank you for sharing!

Hi there @jameszenartist!

First of all congrats on your curie! You had made it once again..

And my my you are such a great artist! The painting is so minimalist and you somehow bring the painting to life like it was really real. Amazing!

Thanks for also sharing the bit by bit details on how you had done the whole process. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

@maquemali Thank you so much :) I'm really glad you enjoyed it and I really appreciate the compliments.

Yes I'm definitely a believer in less being more ;)

If you or know of anyone who would be interested in seeing more of my work and want to be updated when new paintings are uploaded on my website, you can sign up for my newsletter here:

https://jameshansenpaintings.com/email-newsletter

I totally agree.. little things are nore than enough to create a masterpiece..

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful and simple, but not so simple to create.

I do not know too much about the process of art, but since I talk about food, I love that kettle! Is it as heavy as it looks? Is it yours and do you use it? And is it an antique or new? I really love the lines of it and I have not seen a kettle with that shape and high spout before.

Great choice for a subject, and your final result is wonderful. I am so glad to see the process of your work :)

@fitinfunfood Thank you so much for the compliment! :)

Oh yeah, you can definitely knock someone out with this thing ;D haha But no, it's not mine. I just borrowed it. I'm glad that for the time being that I'm surrounded with plenty of antiques. It's pretty old though, I'm not sure how much. There is quite a bit of rust inside! I had to scrub the outside of it for a while so that it looked halfway decent.

If you or know of anyone who would be interested in seeing more of my work and want to be updated when new paintings are uploaded on my website, you can sign up for my newsletter here:

https://jameshansenpaintings.com/email-newsletter

@vickaboleyn Thank you so much! :)

Dear Artist @jameszenartist ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted by the FineArtNow Project ! The Idea of this blog is to bring creative people and art enthusiasts together and to increase the reach of Steemit - Artists ! See you soon !

Congratulations @jameszenartist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60