Surprised by the Steem blockchain? What I missed in the months I was gone

in #palnet5 years ago

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/conradsuperb-surprised-by-the-steem-blockchain-what-i-missed-in-the-months-i-was-gone-k0plsgv1-1565619111259.jpg

I went out of commission for a while, and right when I did, it seems like a lot of interesting stuff transpired here on steem. I mean, I had heard about steem-engine before, but I wasn’t sure exactly what it was and what sort of opportunities it presented. The fact that the Steem blockchain continues to build on top of its goal of forming communities speaks some serious volume.

I know steem-engine isn’t really all that new since it has been around for months now, but that is exactly when I fell off the face of the earth from steem. Steem-engine allows you to build tribes surrounding proof of concept ideas for tokens the community can earn simply via engagement. There are obviously other ways to earn as well, but the passive earning part is what really makes it special since many can be staked like SP.

I finally decided to log in to steem-engine and see what all this hype was about, and to my surprise, I had a bunch of these random tokens in my wallet I had never heard of. Not that I had a whale’s worth in any of them, but still, pretty cool to see tokens just sitting in my steem-engine wallet simply for being a community member. I decided to stake some because it’s basically like powering up your steem to steem power, and that’s generally what I do whenever I have steem sitting in my wallet. Either that, or I send steem to @steembasicincome as sponsorship for new users to help spread the wealth as best as possible. It’s obvious that some of these tokens will fail, but I bet a few of them will prosper, especially when SMTs come out.

I’m still pretty new to this all, but I’m interested in learning more about the ideas behind some of these new - smart contract - projects. A few that particularly caught my eye were PAL and LEO, so much so, that I immediately sent some steem over to my steem-engine wallet.

This place is pretty cool, and a lot is happening that many are unaware of, even those that are here, such as myself. I’m pretty excited to see what the future has in store for steem, as the opportunities are honestly endless.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I also came back after a break from most social media, and have found the changes positive. That being said, I wonder if somehow I could be doing more to take advantage of many of the features i have uet to understand. Would making a coin for action sports even make sense? Or are there any other tools or features you think would help? I found Partiko more user friendly, but feel there is a lot i'm missing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I certainly feel overwhelmed with everything going on, and feel like I could be doing more to capitalize, too. Like for instance, is my steem power working as best as it possibly could for me? Could I be leasing as opposed to delegating? There are a lot of questions, but I think for now my focus is on finding a few tribes that could be something in the future. As for the sports, I think there may actually be a token that has been created... possibly more than one. But you may want to dive deeper into this in order to find out the specifics. You may be able to create one specifically for, “action sports,” as you mention

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have stayed close to the ecosystem but still find myself behind understand everything going on for Steem Engine. I have used a couple of tags and like the engagement but at the end it just continues to demonstrate the flexibility and capabilities of the protocol and prove that Steem is undervalued.

Yeah the current value is way too low and doesn’t justify the capabilities of steem as a whole. But the low prices are honestly the perfect time to continue accumulating via engagement and even investment if necessary for your situation. I know I surely missed out when I fell off there around early May.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95