Open air museum of folklore architecture

in #palnet5 years ago

There are a few places that I keep visiting over and over. One of these places is the open-air museum with its exposition of folklore architecture in Humenné. The exposition shows us a very interesting picture of architecture in the region of upper Zemplín, the region where I grew up.

The museum consists of original houses from the region that were disassembled and moved to this location. It is situated in a large park overlooking the city of Humenné. There are 15 objects that can be visited. This museum is an important part of our cultural heritage and every child from the region visits it during a school trip.

It took us around 20 minutes to get to the museum by car. We were a little bit worried as Maxo can get car sick easily, but I drove slowly and he was alright. After we arrived, we purchased our tickets (EUR 2.50 per person) at the ticket office and our tour could start.

1.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 36 mm

You can decide in which direction you go. It is easy to navigate as each house has a small sign with a short description, so you learn where it was originally built and how it was used.

The first house that we visited is a residential house with water mill from Vyšná Jablonka.

2.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 32 mm

There are two rooms in the house. The first room is the water mill and the second room is the living room. The entrance to the living room is through the water mill.

At the beginning of the living room is a gate and you can't get into the room. Maxo didn't understand it and tried to get there through the small hole in the gate. He got stuck and it took us a few minutes to free him again. He learned from this experience and didn't try to do it in other houses 😊

23.jpg
ISO 2000 1/100 sec. f/8 24 mm

The next object is a granary from Výrava. It's a small object and there a few of them from various parts of Zemplín.

3.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 32 mm

Some residential houses such as this one from Olšínkov have plants in the windows. You would think that someone still lives there.

There is an ongoing reconstruction of the museum which is done by a few men who use traditional techniques only and they rarely use any machines. They are also responsible for the garden and plant various vegetables and fruits. It kind of feels like a real village...

4.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/7.1 26 mm

Zemplínske Hámre is a village that is located right next to my hometown. This house comes from there. It is split into two parts - residential and farming part. It is quite big and belonged to a wealthier family.

5.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/8 26 mm

Outside of the house is a beautiful original carriage.

5a.jpg
ISO 500 1/100 sec. f/8 36 mm

Inside we can see two big rooms. The first one served as a living room. In the past all activities happened in this room. There is a bed behind the corner too. If the family wasn't working around the house or in the fields they would gather in this room and do various activities there.

18.jpg
ISO 1600 1/80 sec. f/7.1 24 mm

The second room used to be a pottery workshop. Nowadays there is some authentic works by Mr. Halamka from Snina. It's a great display of traditional art with folklore pattern from the region.

19.jpg
ISO 1600 1/80 sec. f/6.3 24 mm

Let's move to the residential house from Olšínkov. Last time we were here we tried their grapes but this time of the year they were not ripe yet.

6.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/8 24 mm

Sneak peek through the window...

6a.jpg
ISO 1000 1/100 sec. f/8 24 mm

A little bit more detail..

20.jpg
ISO 2000 1/80 sec. f/6.3 24 mm

And from the entrance...

21.jpg
ISO 1000 1/60 sec. f/5.6 24 mm

It was a hot day and we enjoyed some shadow behind the house. We sat here for a while and enjoyed the atmosphere while Maxo was chasing butterflies around 😊

7.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 40 mm

Let's go up the hill to see another building.

8.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 24 mm

It is a residential three-room log house that was moved here in 1977.

9.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/8 24 mm

It doesn't have a husbandry area and it consists of a living room, hall and a pantry. It was built before the WWI in Klenová. Such houses are still present in the village. They are of course renovated inside but from outside they keep their traditional appearance.

22.jpg
ISO 3200 1/100 sec. f/8 24 mm

As you can see, we were lucky to have the museum just for ourselves. We saw a big school group leaving when we arrived and there was another group that came when we were leaving. So we were there alone almost all the time.

10.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/8 24 mm

12.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/8 24 mm

13.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/8 24 mm

14.jpg
ISO 200 1/200 sec. f/7.1 24 mm

Now we are coming to the most precious gem of the entire exposition - a wooden church from Nová Sedlica.

This church was the first building ever transferred to the museum. It was built in 1754.

This kind of a three-space East Carpathian type of sacral building with a log structure is characteristic for our region. The construction might appear simplistic, but it truly is a great carpenter work. Only wooden nails were used for the construction!

There is a beautiful iconostas and altar in the church, but it is too dark to take photos without flash. You can however enjoy the exterior 😊

15.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 24 mm

16.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 24 mm

17.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 24 mm

And to finish our tour here is our little monster looking dangerous 😊

24.jpg
ISO 125 1/200 sec. f/5 70 mm

I hope you enjoyed a tour of this museum.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Sort:  

Seeing your post about the Slovak folklore architecture I just realised that our nations have a lot in common, the biggest one being the Carpathian mountain chain which we share. I am from Romania and we also have similar wooden houses and churches, of-course with their local differentiation but I must say that Maxo's smile is unique :)

I would love to visit the Carpathian mountain chain in Romania. From what I heard it is much more exciting than the Slovak part.

And I agree with you. There are many similarities which is strange as the distance is quite big. I think that in the past Romania was also under Hungarian empire, right? This could maybe be the reason.

Where exactly are you coming from?

Hahaha, I'm not sure if he was smiling or showing how dangerous he can be :)

Actually the distance isn't so big between the E border of Slovakia to the NW border of Romania, around 100 km, and I believe the borders were a bit different back then. Now with the EU we are like brothers anyway :) which is great especially for us who love to travel. I'm a little farther though, around 1100 km more to the SE of Romania, in Tulcea where the Danube Delta starts. So when you and your husband plan to visit the Danube Delta please let me know so I can be your host and guide. That will be nice!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are right. I have just checked it and it's very close. I haven't realized it before even though I'm from the Eastern part of Slovakia so I could have visited Romania so many times before :)

It looks like a nice place close to the shore. I've heard a lot about Constanca when I was in Bucharest and Tulcea seems to be very close to that place.

I will definitely let you know if we would ever be there. I just hope you won't be cycling somewhere else at that time :)

Awesome to show us yet another wonderful piece of history... I love looking at stuff like that and wondering what it was like to live in those (or visit them)... I also think its fascinating to see what they can do so long ago without our modern tools... For instance wooden nails, that is something I will never forget :P

I'm glad you took Maxo too! When he gets bigger maybe he can pull that buggy since it doesn't look like it has an engine! ;)

I remember that my great grandparents lived in such house. I don't remember much from that period as my great grandma died before I was born but I recall my great grandfather sitting outside of the house with me on his lap giving me treats that my mom wouldn't allow me to eat :D

And my ex's mother still lives in such house. And trust me, it is not comfortable. There is no toilet inside, issues with warm water and heating and the windows are too small so it's always dark. It's not a house for today's needs :)

Hahaha, Maxo won't get bigger. They only grow until they are 6 months old and he turned 6 months in June :) But with his energy I am sure he can pull that anytime :)

lol on Maxo! I bet he could pull it for sure :)

And while I've heard stories from my parents of what that might've been like, I have never seen such a house... I do think the lack of some of the modern conveniences would be a set back, but I think its fascinating how people were happy in such simpler times (under those conditions).

I am in love @delistreats !! I don't know why I always dream about a place very similar to that. As always, I love travelling with you. You do such a good job on showing the sites and wonderful commentary.

Thank you for your kind words! It's an idyllic place but it's not that easy to live in such house. There are still a few villages with such houses where people live. It's a lot of work to maintain but if you like something like that then you would enjoy it :)

Somehow, I feel connected through those photos to a distant time and place similar to such a location...Perhaps it is genetic cell memory due to being in part Hungarian on my mother's side of the family?

That could be.. I've even heard that the architecture is similar in Romania so I wouldn't be surprised if that would be similar in Hungary too. Do you speak Hungarian? :)

No...I do not speak Hungarian having had little exposure to it through my mother or her side of the family, that lived at a considerable distance from us during my youth. My father's LARGE Italian family lived near us, so I speak a little Italian (also because of lengthy visits to Italy years ago and a college Italian Language Course)

I left a piece of my heart in Europe upon leaving, and my foreign language skills have diminished greatly since, as well.

So I assume you could order a meal at the restaurant in Italian, right? :)

Si...Un panino con formaggio e pollo per il mio alligatore morto; grazie mille :>0

I can also call someone a "monkey face" in Urdu, and ask if someone has sweet potato in Korean...

These are very important phrases though. I'm sure you can use them frequently :)

And I hope that your alligatore morto would enjoy his panino :D

These are very important phrases though. I'm sure you can use them frequently :)

Yes...along with 'all' the curse words I learned in other languages, but I'll spare you of the details :>)

And I hope that your alligatore morto would enjoy his panino :D

The alligator refused to eat his sandwich; that's the last time I buy him some food and waste my Lira!!!

Why is it that everyone learns curse words in foreign languages? Is it really just me who has to know how to say 'cappuccino with soy milk please' first? LOL

Now I don't know who is sillier.. you or your alligator.. him for not eating his sandwich or you for wasting your Lira to feed a dead alligator :D

At a glance, I thought you was in Ukraine. Really! This architecture looks exactly the same and even words sounds similar.
Awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, that is true! My hometown is around 30 minutes drive from Ukraine :) My father was born in Slovakia but his nationality Rusyn and his family speak Rusyn language which is something like Ukrainian :) So when I go to Ukraine I do understand and can also speak with people. It requires some effort but it's doable :)

Where exactly are you from?

God we are almost relatives! )))
My hometown is Ivano-Frankivsk, it is western Ukraine. Now I live in Kyiv

How nice! ❤

I have checked google maps and it's only 300 km apart! We are indeed almost relatives :) But it's about 5 hours 27 minutes by car.. those roads in Ukraine :)

Did you move because of work? I visited Kiev a few times and I loved it. There are of course some dodgy places where I would never walk alone but there are many beautiful places in the city that I truly enjoyed. People are so nice day and food is very good!

You sounds like a true Ukrainian - "only 300 km apart plus roads..." and plus boarder, it may takes a halp of day )))

I moved because of my husband's work. He wish he'd move to me, but Kyiv was the only town he can work in Ukraine.

It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your visiting Kyiv! If you ever want to come again, I'd be happy to meet you and show you the town from the sight of locals ))
Cheers!

We have such museums in Romania as the village museum. I find that the ancient peasant architecture of yours resembles that of Romania. A very nice post!

I have visited such museum in Bucharest! :) I don't remember the name but my colleague took me there when I was in Bucharest on a business trip. Those buildings were beautiful. If I remember correctly they had very special shape of roofs.

Thank you for stopping by! Much appreciated!

The museum in Bucharest is close to Herastrau Park. The name is: Village Museum! There is also the Romanian Peasant Museum, more with the objects used by peasants, I think it's the most beautiful museum.

Those cottages are really cute. I'd like to stay a couple of weeks there... maybe even a few months. Just relaxing and enjoying the views! 😄

Me too! But unfortunately it's not possible. However there are a couple of villages with such houses where people still live :) It's so cool!

Thank you for stopping by :)

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @smeralda and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #565.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

100 Snax tokens will be in your wallet by next Monday courtesy of @crowdmind. Learn More

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85