Riding the wind

in #parachuting7 years ago

This must be a glorious feeling as you coast in home.

Pulling down on the left handles to maneuver in the landing approach.

Like a puppet on a string, well a couple of strings.

Sort:  

I went skydiving in Taupo, New Zealand, and it was my first parachute jump. Skydiving has never been an experience I was desperate to do, or had even given a passing thought to, but you know, as they say, when in New Zealand…

And so I found myself with a bunch of strangers about to jump 15,000ft into thin air above the stunning Lake Taupo, which from that distance looked like a mere pond on the horizon of tiny looking things.

Wow, peer pressure I suppose, and what was your overall impression?

There was no anxiety, and no tension. I was utterly devoid of pain, grief, and worry. I felt no affliction of the mind or the soul. I looked out upon that beautiful earth and was surprised to feel complete peace within myself. In that moment, I owned the world. I could feel the cool air on my face with the speed of more than 200 mph as if it was welcoming me.

You are a very brave women. Can only imagine what that must have felt like. Will you do it again?

i smiled the whole time.

got 1 minute of free fall, 3 minutes parachute time.

it was glorious.

I would imagine it was a very long minute? :-)

I've always wanted to try this. It stubbornly remains on my bucket list. I need to set a deadline of getting it ticked. Although I'm coming to the conclusion that maybe one of those tandem skydives and chute falls might be less scary!

not that looks like fun , would love to do this , its on my bucket list , adrenaline sport at its best

Skydiving looks fun.

I most definitively agree!

Wow, nice! I would really love to try this thing once in my lifetime, hope I have a heart for it haha

Oo love ;)

This looks so adventurous. How do you get the courage to jump? We have para-sailed before and love the floating feeling but I do not think we would ever have the courage to jump before the floating feeling-running is scary enough!

I just want an answer to this question, who was the person taking the pictures? were you flying together? or ...?

Ha ha! Good question! Like those films where a mountaineer supposedly climbs a peak "solo"...

Ha ha! Good question! Like those films where a mountaineer supposedly climbs a peak "solo"...

Welcome to my steemit.Please Follow and vote me -https://steemit.com/@ovronil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97