Top landing is an art-form. And you better be a good artist.

in #paragliding6 years ago (edited)

This was one of the days that I could have went to the mountains, but decided to stay close to home.

Part of the reason was because it was memorial day in the US. The other reason was because we were going to be bbqing some hamburgers.

Screen Shot 2018-06-03 at 9.00.14 PM.png

The weather.

Wind speed was about 10 mph. The temps outside were warm. The report for the mountains looked epic. However, I was not finding anyone I know going to the mountains. In other words, I wasn't about to go alone. So I resolved to go to the site that is closest to the house. Torrey Pines Glider port.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.12.40 PM.png

As soon as I launched, I knew it was going to be a great day of flying on the coast.

There is really something special about flying here. The birds, the color of the water, the people, the beach, the surf...I can go on and on.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.12.48 PM.png

One of the really unique things about this fly spot is the houses.

Or should I say giant houses. Beach houses. The goal of course is to get rich off of crypto and buy a house where I can walk out on my back porch and fly my glider. Sound too far fetched. I don't think so.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.14.05 PM.png

In the video I talk about the conditions and how I really enjoy flying.

At some point I think I mention that the thermals were going to be turned off because of the marine layer that is blocking the sun.

Fact: The sun heats of things on the ground until they get warmer than the air surrounding them. Then the thing releases what we know as thermals. The thermals are like bubbles of lifting air that we fly around looking for so was can get altitude. Some pilots have afforded days of 10 hours in the air without having a motor and without having to land.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.14.16 PM.png

At this point I was only flying the ridge lift.

Ridge lift is simply flying in the "Lift Band".

The lift band is the area where the compression of the air coming up and over the face of the ridge makes you stay up. If the wind is strong enough the lift band could give you 500 feet above the cliff.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.15.09 PM.png

In this video I was able to only get a couple hundred feet over launch at a time.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.15.37 PM.png

At this point I decided to practice some top landings.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.16.50 PM.png

In the image above I was filming Acro world record holder Max Marien with his daughter.

She is a doll. Max flies tandems at Torrey most of the time. Sometimes he flies in the mountains, and teaches. I figured I would get some footage of him and his daughter. It was neat to see her so excited to fly.

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 9.15.46 PM.png

This was the interview with Max Marien on my podcast.

Check out www.paraglidingtalk.com if you are interested in flying. Or if you want to learn about what the sport is all about.

Don't forget to follow and subscribe if you like what you see. Have a great day! See you in the air.

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 8.13.10 AM.png

Sort:  

It's not far fetched man! That mansion is yours when you get Bitty Rich beyond your wildest dreams!

Well here you go @captainobviou3 hope this helps towards you goal, and hopefully when it does happen I get invited to the bbq and viewing of the gliders!!
full steem ahead!

ps. I re-steemed it too so hope this helps speed things up towards this goal.

Thank you for your support. You let me know when you want to go fly, and I will make it happen. I have a pretty good circle of friends who are tandem pilots now. I am sure that I can convince one of them to take you for a flight. BTW, I am looking to have a meet up at this gilder port. I will keep you posted.

I really appreciate you being around. You have always been a blessing! You shall reap what you sow!

Awesome videos.Thanks for sharing it .

Brother,

I love watching you fly...

But watching that little girl ask for "More," and seeing her smile and giggle as her Papa got ready to step off the edge again...

You've put a huge smile on my face!

😄😇😄

@creatr

All the great fun adventures. I am very seduced by watching the actual videos. Just amazing work.

Landing is always important. No matter how much you can fly. Your blog...giving me some courage to try this.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I upvote and follow you please return back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01