Parenting, Contributed By @Olawalium

in #parent5 years ago

pexels-photo-532381.jpeg
[Source]

I am not yet a father but I know parenting comes with a lot of hard work, commitment, dedication and sacrifice. You have to sacrifice that part of you to nurture another to full growth. The constant pressure to show responsibility and be accountable is there too and also the need to be a worthy example.

As a parent, you need to be careful about how you act when your children are there. You need to be worthy examples and also know that they are really smart at picking things up. You might think they don’t understand but they really do understand. They pick things faster than you can imagine.


pexels-photo-1934404.jpeg
[Source]

On my wife’s birthday, I gave her a short lip kiss without realizing my neighbour’s kid was there. The moment that brought me back was her laughter and I was surprised. I asked why she was laughing and she told me it was the kiss. Wow! My wife and I, with the few people that were there, showed equal shock and concern. I wonder how she was able to know about a kiss at that age; 6 years. I surely didn’t know what kiss was until I was 10 years of age hahaha.

Yes, they are in jet-age now and they learn faster than we did, which is why we need to be more careful about what we teach them and how we relate to them. We need to start relating with these kids as an adult and talk to them as such, really.

We need to correct them as such too. Most parents would say the child knows nothing and they won’t correct them on the things they need to be corrected on. It is a wrong approach to have because this is how they develop the character that would suit them while growing up. They need to know what is right and what is wrong. When you correct them and they cry, please let them. Never apologize because you are making it register in their brain that they have been unjustly punished. When they are done crying, call them and tell them why you corrected them. It will make them understand the need to use their initiative and act with a bit of fear.

…THE END…


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

Children are the epitome of innocence, wecan mould them the way we want. Fresh with minds and observation they learn what they get to see and feel. Parenting is not an easy task @olawalium I have doing it and trust me it has changed my approach in many ways. Whenever around children i tend to keep the surrounding more happier and clean and avoid any kind of mischief or abusive words among people. Pretty hard but not impossible surellly we always aims at giving the best to our children

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally enjoyed this comment, and it feels so good to have you here. You have touched every angle and I enjoyed your view, especially coming from a man with experience. You are right, my friend, it is not easy but not impossible. We can mould them to whoever we want them to turn out to be. We need to be careful around them and yes, their presence gives a new perspective to things and to life. We want to always be better for them.

Thank you so much for this.

Thanks dear...reading your post is always excites me

Posted using Partiko Android

I will say children don't really of what we ask them to do but instead they emulate and practice what they say us doing. Parents are closer to the kids when they are growing so they must be careful and they attention to their ward so as not to imbibe what they aren't support to imitate.

Parents should stop saying, the kids don't know anything, they really do pay attention to everything. There was a time I caught my neighbor children, brother and sister, playing hard to the extent of kissing each other. I was baffled, not knowing what to do. My brain senses it that they might have seen their parents in such act unknowing to the them.

Wow! That is risky and quite delicate. These little children pick up even the tiniest of things and we often make the mistake of thinking they don't understand. They really understand and they pick things up. We need to be careful how we act around these children. We should be their role model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05