Pigzabe product testing

in #parenting5 years ago (edited)

About a month... (or maybe was it two... it's hard to tell when you spend most of the nights on the toddler's floor...) I was invited to a product testing for Pigzbe as I was one of the original Kickstarters for the project. It was mainly to test out the adult-facing part of the ecosystem... and to see what sort of feedback we could provide after a roughly half hour hands on with a dummy version of the app.

It was quite interesting to do, as I had never done a product test before... so it was a bit daunting, but after about 5 minutes I started to get into the swing of things and could provide some hopefully interesting insights. It began as a remote session which then led me down the path of installing the app on an Android device (I was an Android tester, I'm sure that there were iOS testers as well...). Needless to say, I had dug out an old phone (actually, it was a decentish OnePlus One from a few years back...) to avoid having to have a remote session and an unvetted app being installed on one of my more regularly used devices.

Basically, Pigzbe is aiming to bring the pocket money experience into the digital age... and what had interested me was that it was harnessing a cryptocurrency, Wollo (WLO) based on the Stellar blockchain, as it's "currency" of choice. The reasoning behind this was that it was going to be cheaper for transactions to be sent from extended families and all of that...

The adult version of the app (the one I tested) is quite functional in it's User Interface (at least, when I saw it... there were lots of placeholder elements...).... whereas, I understood that the kiddie facing part of the app is much more "fun". Anyway, the apps can be installed on mobile devices, or as a Kickstarter backer, you get a special hardware device for the child (I assume you can also purchase those separately as well after the launch).

During the testing, I was able to run through the process of setting up tasks and various rewards and setting savings goals... during the product testing, I was supposed to talk through the process of everything that I saw and did on screen (the screen was already mirrored to them, so they could see what was going on... plus there was video and audio streaming...). I did have some workflow and other basic suggestions... in some cases, it did seem like they had had no experience with children....

Some examples of suggestions that I had made:

  1. When you set chained tasks (say, set the dinner table on Saturday and Sunday) there was no all or nothing option. So, a child would be rewarded (half the reward) if they set the table on only one day! Well... that's not the way I think most parents would want this to work... you don't get rewarded for doing half the job!
  2. The reward for tasks done was automatically defaulted to "no checking required". I don't know about any other parent... I trust my kids and I think they are the greatest things ever... but if they said they've done something... I still will check to see if it is done... and done well! Half arsed jobs are not rewarded! So, I suggested that the default should be "checking required"... as it is better to give trust, rather than to take it away.
  3. You can set savings goals... which other family members and friends can help contribute to. I said that there should be a cap on outside contributions... I don't know about other families... but if my mother sees that one of our kids is saving up for something... well, she's going to be asking if she can just get it for them!

There were also some crypto based questions that I had in the general question and answer session that I had afterwards... it was apparent that the interviewer wasn't totally up to speed with how crypto worked.... on the other hand, I think I tend to have a slight edge over a normal layperson. I had issues with the fact that the kid's wallet and parent's wallet... were actually the same wallet on the Stellar blockchain. I thought that they should have different Stellar addresses, to be more like ownership of the Wollo.

The other question that they weren't able to answer adequately for me was how they were going to deal with the volatility in price of Wollo. It's great to set a savings goal... but the the lesson I don't want to teach my child is to do nothing and Wollo will moon and you will get everything that wished for... or work your arse off, and Wollo will keep dropping... and your goals will keep getting further away. I hope that they've sorted that... but I'm not sure about that, after the interview, I stocked up some Wollo... and see that it has doubled in value versus fiat since then. To be perfectly honest, I'm not sure why they had to use their own custom crypto (probably for control...). instead of an existing stablecoin.

Anyway, the company (Primo) is planning to integrate Wollo into more of it's coming toy launches. They do make a really good line of technical/scientific educational toys.. of which we've been really happy with. Cubetto was a Christmas present from a few years ago for the oldest child, and now the two of them enjoy playing with it! It's a cute way to introduce young kids to sequential programming.....

However, there was an awkward sort of moment at the end of the interview/testing... where they were asking about the value of subscriptions that I would be happy with. It was really really awkward because essentially I told them that the value of the app (to me), whilst being handy... was essentially zero. The way we handle "pocket money" and saving in our household is not the reward for task or the wages model. Basically, if the kids are generally good and we are happy with them... they get treats... if not, then nope! The kids also know not to ask for everything or anything unrealistic... because we just say NO!... well, actually... I say "I want a PONY!".... but that is a story for a different blog!

Keep Your Crypto Holdings Safe with Ledger

Ledger is one of the leading providers of hardware wallets with the Ledger Nano S being one of the most popular choices for protecting your crypto currencies. Leaving your holdings on a crypto exchange means that you don’t actually own the digital assets, instead you are given an IOU that may or may not be honoured when you call upon it. Software and web based wallets have their weakness in your own personal online security, with your private keys being vulnerable in transit or whilst being stored upon your computer. Paper wallets are incredibly tiresome and still vulnerable to digital attacks (in transit) and are also open to real world attacks (such as theft/photography).

Supporting a wide range of top tokens and coins, the Ledger hardware wallet ensures that your private keys are secure and not exposed to either real world or digital actors. Finding a happy medium of security and usability, Ledger is the leading company in providing safe and secure access to your tokenised future!

Ledger Nano S - The secure hardware wallet


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Good to hear some form of pocket savings into the piggy bank is more digital.

Also agree pocket money is earned in a variety of ways, not always related to chores, that may start hinging onto child labour... Yup you have to think we living in a PC world.

I'm not really into the straw man culture wars... We just don't do the pay for chores thing as we think it gives the wrong lesson that you do things for the reward at the end, rather than doing the right thing with no expectations.

I agree, children need good guidance, loving parents the rest follows by example. Rewarding children twist the final outcome of finding out how to do the right thing in life.

Pigzbe and Cubetto are both so cute! That sounds exciting to be part of the product-testing team and being able to provide feedback to the developers! 😃

They are great little things for teaching kids about programming (or saving...). It was quite interesting to see the pre-release version... and to hopefully help shape the end product! It is something that I could get quite used to!

Digital age is closer every day!

Yes... we are really in a transition, soon the kids won't know the world without it!

You posed some very good questions to them and I hope that they will resolve them.
I am with you and don't like the "earn" pocket money approach. To me, if you are part of the family, you are part of doing the chores...

Yes, that was also the way that we grew up as well... the concept that friends were getting pocket money was pretty weird to me! Anyway, I have to think quite carefully how we will use this educational "toy"!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bengy (also musicapoetica) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 7.72% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.659 which ranks you at #1644 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1645).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 484

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64