To my oldest son...

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1510089869014.jpg

I made you from scratch

I am still learning how to be the best mother I can be. I often feel like I should apologize that you have been teaching me through this entire journey. As my first born, you have had to endure most of my uncertainty and mistakes. Most days, I wish that I had a guide of some sort to assure me that I am parenting adequately. Such a guide does not exist, and therefore we will continue to learn together. I myself am not without flaws and am constantly trying to be better for you and your brothers. You make me strive to be better every day, and make my heart super happy. You boys are my entire world. <3

I remember how incredibly hard it was to be 13 years old. I was super awkward, clumsy, not sure where I "fit in", my body was changing, I wanted independence, but the world was still scary and complicated most of the time. I try to continuously remind myself of this; with every eye roll, through every defiance, each time you misspeak or make a mistake, every time you would rather spend days away than be at home. You have a lot of the same personality traits that I do (you are stubborn, firm in your opinions, scatter brained and you also never shut up) that is part of the reason we argue so much. I hope that you have picked up some of my good traits as well, it is apparent to me already that you are intelligent and kind.

I'm still trying to figure out how the world works....and most days I'm convinced it doesn't!

I do not have all the answers. All the tough love I give you does indeed serve a purpose. One day, in the not so distant future you will prepare your own meals, wash your own laundry, I won't be there to find the missing object or remind you to shower. I want to equip you with the tools to handle adult life, which unfortunately includes; conflict, disappointment, decision making, and obligations. My door will always, always, always be open to you. Never be afraid to ask me for help.

It is important to note that although life is often uber complicated and unfair, life is full of all sorts of surprises. There is always something to be thankful for. Keep being the best version of yourself, you make me proud.

Until further notice, Celebrate Everything!!! -Unknown

Love,

Mom

Come visit me in Whaleshares Discord:

https://discord.gg/qDUmmPC

whaleshares.png

I'd love to meet you!!

Much love always-

coollogo_com-381621.gif

Sort:  

Lovely piece here. i so much believe that your son is a strong breed like you. Its going to be well. He will be a great guy and also take good care of you

Much love to him. Hope to see him here soon.

We are learning everyday on how to be the best moms to our kids because every child is different right?
Hope he will grow up to be an awesome person like his mom. 😉
Much love @krazykrista.

Much love back <3 good to see you

You can still be a good mother... never give up on ya soon. He’s tour all in all.

I think I do an ok job, but we definitely argue more than I'd like...always a work in progress, thank you for taking the time to read.

My pleasure. I would do same if I had a son or a daughter.

Thank you, your writing has opened the horizon and became a whip for me.
I am also educating a teenage son, and this makes me upset, because he is so hard with his attitude and his stance almost makes up his mother's despair, as well as me, as his father I had failed to focus on acting, he is a bit stubborn but when examined to the past, when I was his age, I may be more stubborn than him, I finally decided to keep quiet and follow his direction, hopefully time will answer and he will realize that whatever I do now is for his good in the present and future

Glad you found some use for my writing. Being a parent is hard work, I have four sons and they all come with different challenges to work through. 3 of them will be teenagers together so that will be a new adventure. Thank you for taking the time to read, I am going to go peek at your blog now.

Thank you again, we are in the same challenge, I am struggling to educate my grown sons and daughters

Beautiful piece of writing. As a new and nervous father, this makes so much sense to me.

I am glad you enjoyed it, kids are truly amazing, I am glad to discover others who are unsure of their abilities as a parent. Thanks for taking the time to read

Unsure and nervous..haha..you don't get a manual for it so I think you spend your whole life learning.

hashtagforeveraworkinprogress... I am okay with that :)

That was nice :-) It's true though - we just have to make up the 'adulting' stuff as we go along and hope some of it sticks as good advice for the kids.

You are so right, I started thinking about the fact that I was raising someone's father, husband, friend, employee...long ago...I hope to provide them with the tools to succeed when they are grown.

Very beautiful. Happily a 100% upvote :)

Thanks for the support intelliguy <3

I say you some question @krazykrista

How to earn many dollar less then a vote?

If you have discord you can come visit me using the link above and I will teach you about whaleshares :)

how to join discord?

Congratulations @krazykrista, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2546 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2246.80. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88