You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Low Rumbling Sound . . . Haiku, The Destruction of Port Royal, and a forgotten chapter in the founding of the New World *****

in #partiko5 years ago

Oooh, I recognize this Steemit name:
@katrinaariel, if you're curious about my pirate novel, here you go. This ^^^ is the background to the story.

Your pirate novel?!

I'm more than curious. I'm dying to read your fiction!!!

Sort:  

Okay, truth be told, it's not actually a pirate novel, but due to the time and place in which it's set, pirates and privateers do enter into the story.

Fiction writing is still a tad foreign to me, notwithstanding that I've been researching and writing this novel for so long, it's so far seemingly taken the full 327 years since the earthquake, and counting. ;-/

I didn't initially set out to write a novel, but a historical piece, because as I began researching what happened, I just kept getting drawn in more and more deeply because I found it so fascinating.

And the more I learned, the more questions I uncovered, so the events and what surrounds them are this research geek's dream.

But when I realized how many of the original records had been destroyed, and how difficult it is to get access to those that still exist, I suddenly realized why James Cameron added several characters to the Titanic who weren't actually on the historic voyage. (My biggest beef with the film, though I've since forgiven him).

The funny thing is that I probably would never have found myself down this particular rabbit hole had Nova and the BBC actually used the reference materials that they listed in the end credits, but then again, I'm thankful they were so egregiously wrong, or I might never have discovered this fascination.

Marek has believed in my story from the start, as have several of my friends, and the most striking thing to me is how relevant most of it still is today, especially in the wake of the #metoo movement, and our current global (and local) rise of totalitarian regimes.

We're definitely living in interesting times.

Posted using Partiko Android

You'll have an amazing story to tell, and you'll tell it beautifully.
Have you read any of Elizabeth Letts? She brings obscure details of history to life. The reams and reams of research materials she's read do not bog down the narrative. She works it in seamlessly and judiciously. "The Perfect Horse" - the horses of World War II, rescued by Patton's team - is probably my favorite.
Marek sounds like SUCH a catch!

Thanks, I appreciate your confidence.

I'm not familiar with Elizabeth Letts, but that could also be a great description of Antonia Fraser, whose historical fiction always kept me enthralled.

Michener too, though like Stephen King, his books were sometimes overkill, and could have stood more judicious editing.

And I think that's what I'm afraid of, is winding up with a 700 page tome that no one in their right mind would read.

But then, I come to my senses, and know that my years of familiarity and love for Strunck and White would (hopefully) save me from such a fate.

Not to mention a good editor. ;-)

Which reminds me, did you ever read Edwin Newman's wonderful book, "Strictly Speaking?" It is essentially about the use and misuse of language, and far from being dry, is a delightful read.

My mom loved it so much that we all wound up reading it, and it was great fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh gosh yes, Stephen King, Michener, and Joyce Carol Oates could use some judicious editing! They're impervious to that imperative to "don't write the parts readers will skim" or skp (Elmore Leonard advice?). I've been trimming out and finally not even bothering to write the details I used to indulge in. It's liberating, on the one hand, but the results can be stark, on the other hand. Historical fiction is a genre where detail is expected and welcomed. You will have more than you can use, but you will also have an editor and publisher to help you make that painful decision on what to "amputate" (that's how it feels!).

Yes, it's amazing how wrapped up we can get with our creations, especially when they seem to take over and start telling the story themselves.

Amputation is right, and sometimes it feels like you're losing a kid, if not a part of yourself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haven't read it but will! Thanks -I can see his influence or inspiration in your writing: He deflates the pompous, the grandiose, the stilted, and the hollow. He rejoices in language that is lucid, graceful, direct, civilized. The reader rejoices with him.
Your prose is all that! Even your replies are!

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1215408.Strictly_Speaking

Thank you, @carolkean!

High praise indeed, especially coming from you. I am honored, and my mom wou lo d be proud.

That said, I'm still working on improving my tendency toward using convoluted run-on sentences. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69