Leporello Travel Sketchbook I

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)

Before leaving to Singapore, I made a leporello travel sketchbook with thick rough watercolor paper. I chose to do it myself to make exactly what I need for two weeks. Ten landscape panels form one extra long page, folded like accordion. The handmade leporello generates an intimate mode of reception. It is also highly functionnal. The travel sketchbook is relatively small and light to fit in my bag and in my hands without giving me cramps or any discomfort. I design my own tools like custom prosthesis to prevent muscle or joint pain in my forearms and fingers because of my regular drawing practice. I take care my body because I need it to make art. I notice that the documentation of a simple artistic trial and error process is visually satisfying.

You might like my previous posts:

https://steemit.com/art/@enbyx/the-world-is-yours
https://steemit.com/art/@enbyx/the-pig-research-launch-letter
See You in 2019!
On the Road, On the Page
Nostalgia Selfie Drawing
Quick Drawings in the Waiting Room
Own a Sewing Machine or Zero Waste Daniel's Review
The Pearltree Stands Right Behind the Bin
Art Is Like a Breathing Rhythm
Juxtapose Skin and Paper


Follow me @enbyx
100% real art content
made with love.

Sort:  

Wow, this is awesome. To design your own tools and then to make art. Wonderful. When someone is talented and creative, everything is possible.

Thank you for your kind words! Building my own tools makes me feel free...

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks fantastic. I'll show this to my daughter. She loves art and is always improving tools. She'll love this.
Great work. So neat

I am fascinated by this line:

I design my own tools like custom prosthesis to prevent muscle or joint pain in my forearms and fingers because of my regular drawing practice.

I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and pain from the shoulders down is a sad fact of daily life. I am lucky enough to be able to still use a keyboard, but had to give up most things with pens or brushes. Now you inspire me to get more creative with my tools.

Your book itself is lovely and your photos of it are wonderful. You sure have a way with the macro shots!

I hope the trip is everything you hope for I will be glad to see the results.

.

Every bit of that is mind blowing. Thank you so much, @enbyx. LOVE your pen and shaver. Beautiful lines.

Henri Matisse! that stick is so long. Wow.

I need to stop thinking of my limitations! You have given me so much to think of.

Since you mentioned Singapore - I will be there on Monday Jan 28 and back on Wed Jan 30 to Malaysia. I'm staying in Little India and not mobile. But if you are there and want to come over and eat or something, I would love to.

Sharon @fitinfun

It's so cool to make your own tools and design them for your own needs. I love when artists focusing on certain things are creative in other situations too. And you proved that you definitely are!! Great job!

Have a lovely weekend!

Creativity is problem solving. Art don't offer solutions. I am addicted to both ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

It's amazing how you dedicate time to make your own sketchbook, I guess this makes you enjoy every bit of the process even more and you get the chance to make it suit your own taste! Your photos are stunning and I would definitely love to see what you make of the sketchbook.

Looking forward to seeing your drawings!

Yes it takes time. Even more with the process documentation! Thank you for reading my post. I enjoy my sketchbook and its drawings when people see it :) Here are 2 drawings. I will post the next ones soon, as I make them.
https://steemit.com/art/@enbyx/leporello-travel-sketchbook-ii-zwo3o1wg

https://steemit.com/partiko/@enbyx/leporello-travel-sketchbook-iii-singapore-xaqz1gfe

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! The drawings are really beautiful... I love them!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi enbyx,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Great!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @enbyx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Howdy from Texas enbyx! wow this is a great post! The project is so practical and making it yourself is very creative and innovative and I love the step by step photos, great job!

Howdy today enbyx and thank you for the links! God bless you and keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59