You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pay it forward: empowering the youth and farming rebound

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

well, I don't know, but it seems to me that poverty in Philippines is so severe that a lot of people can't buy a computer. I'm saying this because I wanna now what do you think about on-line educational platforms such as coursera or edx. Is that possible that they could solve this problem (lack of education) to some extent?

Sort:  

I've been loaded and has not come for replies sooner. This post is past payout but I just want to reply to your comment.

There is a mouthful to say about online education. For one and to your point, many Filipinos may not be able to afford computer, much more internet connection. Even if they can afford both, there is very limited knowledge for them to know that there are online opportunities out there. What do they know? Facebook!

On the other hand, our educational and employment systems are not yet ready to embrace online education. Most employers would think less of a candidate who acquired knowledge and skills online. It is as if online education is of lower value. I can not blame them because I have seen that on my own experience. I acquired an industry certification online but I was not satisfied with the course content.

I think the bottom line is for Filipinos to not be satisfied with status quo and keep exploring what opportunities are out there...

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91