You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CHRISTMAS DONATION !!! 500 STEEM !!!

in #payitforward5 years ago

What an awesome gift for someone! I'd like to nominate a person who likely cannot receive the award. I don't know that he has a steemit account, although I belive that @arbitrarykitten could find a way to get the gift to him.


Anyway, I'd like to nominate Shannon Jay for his work in rescuing animals abandoned during the Paradise, California fire. He has been searching through the destroyed town and coaxing frightened, burnt animals into his arms. He feeds them and gets them the care they need, then he helps them find their people. It is noble, thankless work for the most part, and I'd love to see him be rewarded for his efforts.


Ok, so there it is. All 72 words of it in between the lines. :-)

Sort:  

Thank you for your nomination, Jen! It's been accepted. In case that the donation would be sent to him, we would find a way.

This man definitely deserves some rewards for his effort. I love what he is doing as those poor animals must be frightened, hurt and they can't help themselves so there is no reason why he couldn't receive this award :)

This is a beautiful initiative! You are truly a blessing @martina <3

Shannon is not on Steemit (yet- however I introduced him to the platform and if I have my way he will be a wonderful addition to the community in the very near future when things slow down!) 😁

I operate a rescue home for severely burned and abused cats and kittens, and although I'm stationed in WA state and Shannon in CA, we will be figuring out a way to combine our labors of love- forces joined equal great power! I have several other home rescues combining resources and networking for a project that will be educating high schoolers on fostering abused and discarded pets (possibly granting them school credits as well) and Shannon's unique perspective, combined with his in depth field perfected lost-cat finding techniques make him a treasured commodity for the project!

He's a humble and amazing soul- if you get a chance drop him a message on Facebook (I put the link to his page in the Fire Cat Rescue post) and say hi!

Shannon Jay definitely deserves @mattifer s nomination, and I second it!

Thank you so much for offering this generous blessing! I hope this Christmas season is full of wonder and beauty for you and yours 🌟. Be Blessed.

Thank you for your contribution. You are operating some great projects! It must be very difficult to see all those hurt cats and kittens and I can imagine it must take a lot of time for them to gain trust in you. I also like your project about educating high schoolers. It is so important to teach children to be compassionate and I'm happy to hear that you will be working on that.

With my husband we support projects helping animals in different countries around the globe as many people often forget that they need our help too.

Thank you for confirming Jen's nomination! Can you please send me the link to your post so that I know exactly which one I should check to get his Facebook account?

Have a nice day!

Oh man, you guys are all awesome! Here's the link to @arbitrarykitten's post: https://steemit.com/life/@arbitrarykitten/fire-cat-rescue

Here's the link to Shannon's Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/shannon.jay.52

And here's the link to his GoGundMe in case you want that too: https://www.gofundme.com/butte-county-fire-cat-rescue

I love to see people doing such great work, and it's even better when community comes around to support them. :-)

Thank you Jen! I will check them all out :)

You're welcome. I just checked out his facebook page. It looks like the powers that be are trying to stop people like him from doing his good work. I don't know why it happens like that here, but it seems as though after every disaster our government steps in and tries to stop private individuals from doing their own good deeds. It's strange. I'm sure he won't quit though. :-)

I was in a similar situation doing disaster relief after a major hurricane. I was part of a free kitchen that was serving over 1,000 meals each day for free. We met all the health code standards for food safety, but the government kept trying to chase us out and shut us down. I guess they make lots of money off doing this themselves, and they don't like to see people making it work without them. Grrr.....

Couldn't it be for the safety reasons? I'm not sure how it looks like there but I can imagine that he needs to crawl under different items, or enter some unstable objects to save them? I don't know.. I'm not on the government side, just trying to understand why this is happening :)

That sounds so unfair! Sometimes I feel like governments don't like to support their own people. If they make money doing it themselves, it's ok. But the problem is that they mainly don't do it at all :)

It certainly could be for safety reasons, but I don't think the government should stop people from trying to help. He is a grown man - I'm sure he understands the danger. And it's not like the government would take responsibility if he was injured anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75