A better revenge

in #payitforward4 years ago (edited)

A few months ago, I met a person. This creature had always acted friendly around me and, I treated this person with the same amount of courtesy and respect that I thought it deserves. It thought that if I am alone, I will perish. I did struggled over the months on those precepts. That I am alone and helpless. I was really miserable.

lion-1237446_640.jpg

But something else happened: I met wonderful people! Though these people do not belong on the same cultural heritage as I am, I felt their genuine love and support. I discovered that in every relationship, honesty comes first. That communication no matter how confrontational it may seem is essential. They made me feel good about who I am and what I could be. They listened to me, counseled me. Help me in ways that they know could ultimately benefit me. In a way, they were liked my Steemit family. They knew what I would ultimately become and they wanted me to get there!

Looking back now, I am often reminded of a story in the bible. This is the summary of the story according to enwikipedia:

Daniel is raised to high office by his royal master Darius the Mede. Daniel's jealous rivals trick Darius into issuing a decree that for thirty days no prayers should be addressed to any god or man but Darius himself; any who break this are to be thrown to the lions. Daniel continues to pray to the God of Israel, and the king, although deeply distressed, must condemn Daniel to death, for the edicts of the Medes and Persians cannot be altered. Hoping for Daniel's deliverance, he has him cast into the pit. At daybreak the king hurries to the place and cries out anxiously, asking if God had saved his friend. Daniel replies that his God had sent an angel to close the jaws of the lions, "because I was found blameless before him." The king commands that those who had conspired against Daniel should be thrown to the lions in his place, along with their wives and children, and writes to all the people of the whole world commanding that all should tremble and fear before the God of Daniel.

I am not saying that I am a righteous person. I will not even claim that I am a faithful person. There are certainly better people out there. But, I just wanted to related my story with this biblical story because, I felt that this monster did everything it could to destroy me. But in the end, what it thought would ruin me ultimately made me into a better person. What's a better revenge than that?

I still hate this creature's guts but, I am not stressing myself up by thinking of it everyday. I am not even sure I recognize its existence anymore but even if I do, it would be on this level: I need to avoid it in case it infects me with its foulness!

Sort:  

revenge just gives us a temporary relief in my opinion

Revenge just gives us
A temporary relief
In my opinion

                 - bhattg


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Gotta love this bot!

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.78% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You did well and grew from there, I apllaud you

thanks Britt! I got through it all and, I am just happy to be back!

You could add the thoughtful daily post tag to the text in your post and Wes will extra promote it

thank you britt! be doing that after I get home.

Lots of people like this out there... it's best to just let it go... If you're really in need of more, then utter these words: "May you get what you deserve and deserve what you get..." That gives you the relief you need - and calls karma to do its job - without needing to get everything right.

thank you for that....maybe, I'll do just that.

It's very difficult to let go other our abusers. Very often we want to know why they treated us like this.
But there are no answers, these people are just horrible. I am grateful that you overcame this person.
I have my own users and abusers and sometimes the best thing is to recognise who they are, and walk away.
Focus on the good people

i agree. reality check: just because it happened before , does not mean that it gets forgotten in the past. I am not claiming that I will spend the rest of my life resenting/ hating you. Its just that what you did, its not forgotten. I will take note of that as a future reference in case I encounter you or your kind in the future.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76