You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honoring Lucky

in #payitforward5 years ago

Pets are never 'JUST' anything. They are a part of your life. A companion a confidant and part of your family.

Each animal loss has affected me some in different ways, depending on how they have passed. My last puppy (he was only 3) had died from an aneurysm. I stumbled over him as I walked in the door. I have to admit. I didn't handle that one well. I still have issues, he was my emotional support animal on top of it all.

Sort:  

'Glad' to hear I'm not the only one who has trouble dealing with the loss of a pet, even though quite some time has passed.

Pets are never 'JUST' anything. They are a part of your life. A companion a confidant and part of your family.

💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

Many people don't get that, ... reading that sentence just made me cry because it is so right...

aww. You truly are such a sweet soul. People think I'm weird about it too. I don't care. I have kids but my animals are just as much part of my family. I'm not looking forward to when it's the old man's time we found him feral, he was about 4-5 mos old at the time and he's 15 this yr.

I don't have human kids, but feline children. I love them to death. And just like you say, people think I'm weird because I consider them to be my kids. Well, I admit... maybe that is a bit weird, but I can't help it.

As a kid, I only had dogs, but when I went to live in my first apartment, it was a cat that crossed my life. I always thought I was a dog-person, and not a cat-person, but I appear to be both.

I adopted 7 of them between 1997 and 2001. I lost one in 2007 and one in 2010, and I'm still not over it. Every since, I've been living in fear, because they were getting older, and by losing the first two I realized that I would have to say goodbye to all at one point.

Last year in September, one was diagnosed with a very aggressive sort of cancer. The 10 weeks between the diagnose and the moment we had to let her go literally broke me. Exactly 10 days later, the dog died, while she was just fine four days earlier.

I sank into deep depression...

Last July, I had to say goodbye to my favorite cat, my little guy was 21 years of age, and once again, I died inside when I had to let him go. I still die a little each day since. I miss him so much.

And the fear is bigger than ever. Because the 3 that remain are between 18 and 20 years old. I can't go through this again... but I will have to, three times. I've still not recovered from losing my babies (I'm literally sobbing while writing this), and I don't expect to recover any time soon.

People try to comfort me by saying things like: 'At least you had them with you for a long time' - but that doesn't really help. 20 years is like half of my life, my entire life as an adult. That really means something.

I'm so scared all the time...

About an hour ago, I came across the post I wrote after my little man died. I still can't bring myself to read it again. Even after 8 months, I can't go into the living room - he used to be on the couch al the time - without feeling the sadness take over.

Sometimes I think that if I would have known it would be so devastating to lose them, I would have never taken them in in the first place. But then again, If i hadn't, I would have missed out on so many beautiful things.

However, I can't say if I'll be able to take in another cat or dog when my three girls are gone. I don't even know if I will be able to cope with the loss of those three. A heart can only be broken so often...

OH hun 😢 I totally get that. It's been 3yrs since I lost the last one and I still cry. It breaks my heart how I found him. There is nothing weird at all.

I can completely understand about how you feel about getting anymore after your current ones. It's hard. You're not replacing them that's the one thing to remember. But yes it hurts more each time you lose another :( .

Talking about crying. I didn't cry but I did get very teary eyed. Thank YOU 💜💜💜💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69